The Tooth Fairy Ain’t What She Used to Be

I love my little second grade class.  Twenty-one of the cutest little people you’d ever want to meet show up at my door each morning (okay, it’s only been two mornings) with big ol’ toothy grins.  Or snaggle-toothy grins.  My room is a hotbed of loose teeth, my friends, and it is SO EXCITING!

One of my Wranglers lost not one, but two teeth Monday.  We put them in little tooth necklaces and he went to the office where he got a congratulatory pencil.  He was the most popular child in the class for the rest of the day.

And then yesterday, one of my sweet girls had a tooth so loose that it was just begging to be pulled.  She worked on that tooth all day long, but she couldn’t quite get it to come out.  We all kept an eye on her, not wanting to miss the big moment, but our hopes were dashed when 4:00 came and the tooth was still hanging on.  There’s always tomorrow.

Several other kiddos have loose teeth, and I had forgotten how thrilling and all-consuming the prospect of losing a tooth can be.  Not only is it a relief not to have a dangly tooth flopping around, but there’s also the knowing that once pulled, the tooth fairy will come in the night and trade a hefty sum of money for your little tooth.

When I was of the tooth-losing age, the tooth fairy paid about a quarter per tooth.  After a couple or three pulled teeth, you could really rack up at Ben Franklin’s Dime Store with that kind of loot.  I remember thinking I had more money than I’d ever know what to do with.

Please.  It was chump change compared to what kids are getting for their teeth these days.  It’s like their teeth are made of marble or something.  One child told me the tooth fairy leaves $5 per tooth.  Can you imagine how much money the tooth fairy will have to fork over throughout the tooth-losing years?  Another little one told me that he once got movie passes and a Target gift card.  Seriously?  I had no idea the tooth fairy was so with-it.

I’m impressed with the tooth fairy and her generosity these days.  I’m also a little worried because we have two little boys who are sure to enter that long-awaited phase.  And who knows what the going rate for teeth will be by then?

I must say, tooth fairy, you’ve come a long way, baby.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 07:52:38

    Hi! I have been finding the same thing about the tooth fairy in our neck of the woods! What in the world?! Like you, I also got a quarter per tooth. Just curious what the tooth fairy plans to leave Tater Tot when the time comes? I have a 6 year old with two loose teeth right now and am wondering what the right thing for the fairy to do is! ;-)

    Glad you are loving your new class! My little guy just started 1st grade.

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 08:16:36

    $5 bucks a TOOTH!?

    I’m in the wrong industry, honey. I need to go to Tooth Fairy College, because it’s obviously a well-paying career these days, if she can bless kids with such lavish gifts. Pffft.

    Almost makes me want to yank a few of my own out…

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 13:10:18

    You keep that second grade position and never let it go. If I get back to second grade I will never, ever give it up. EVER!

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 15:06:05

    Could you get that tooth fairy’s number and have her call me? We had to fire ours after she kept forgetting to visit. UGH. Or maybe she just had to file for bankruptcy with all the tooth pulling we’ve got goin’ on.

    I’m just sayin’.

    Reply

  5. Kerstin
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 17:04:12

    Goodness, my children are going to be the poor kids that everyone pities because there is no way they are getting $5 a tooth! I am so glad to hear that you are loving 2nd grade! There is NO way I could teach 5th grade and after dealing with that special group last year, you deserve a fabulous year (and a fat pay raise). They are lucky to have you!

    Reply

  6. Kelley
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 18:36:24

    Dang! I wonder if the tooth fairy needs an assistant?!?

    Reply

  7. mary carol
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 11:18:58

    My six year old niece gets $6 allowance each week—-a dollar for each year. When I started nursing school, I got $5 dollars a week. Interesting, huh? (Of course, we are talking a nearly 50 year interval) :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

