I’m Running Out of Ways to Say “Random”

All I’ve got for today is a bunch of random nothings, and quite frankly, I’ve just about beaten the random horse to death.  How many ways can I say it?  Maybe I’ll make up a new word for it, like “modnar,” which is random spelled backwards.  I like to let my creative side loose every now and then.  It should come as no surprise that I keep it under lock and key for the majority of the time, because MODNAR is what it spits out when left to its own devices.

Ah.  The weekend.

By the time we all got home Friday afternoon, we were completely pooped.  The first week back to school wore up slap out, and it was all I could do to get everyone fed, bathed, and kissed goodnight before falling flat into bed all before 9:00.  I think I may have even slept in my clothes.  Even with a sweet class, the first week of school is always a week of sleep deprivation and raw nerves.

Speaking of my sweet little class, I am proud to report that my snaggle-toothed cutie lost that dangling front tooth Friday.  The rejoicing and congratulating went on for a good little while, as we were all very caught up in the drama of it all.  Those sitting near her were actually relieved.  It is hard to pay attention to a boring old teacher when your neighbor may lose a tooth any minute.  (You may think it’s sad to play second fiddle to a loose tooth, but I’ll take it.)

In addition to the lost tooth, the class earned 10 compliments by Friday, which means they’ll have a compliment treat sometime this week.  I promise not to blog about their every move, but please remember that last year’s class NEVER made it to the compliment treat.  E-V-E-R.  So I’m just sayin’.

Okay, back to the weekend.  Tater Tot was up and at ‘em by 6:30 Saturday morning, but he’s finally old enough to play with his toys and watch cartoons without my having to be completely awake and engaged.  GLOR-EEEE!  So I catnapped until Small Fry woke up at the sweet hour of 9:30.  Lord, bless that child.  Once both children were fed and burning off the calories from a nutritious breakfast of breakfast bars and Pop Tarts, David kindly offered to let me hide back under the covers for a couple of hours.  Sometime around Thursday I came down with the back-to-school sinus meltdown, and nothing helps it like a few doses of Mucinex and a good nap or two.  Sure enough, after about an hour and a half, I was much better.  David was worn to a frazzle, but he’ll recover any day now.

Sunday was kind of crazy.  Small Fry slept again for nearly 15 hours, waking up at 10:30, making it too late for the two of us to make it to church, but David and Tater Tot went, and David decided to let Tater Tot go to “big” church.  Except for having to use the bathroom three times, David said Tater Tot behaved very well.  By the time they got home, Small Fry had eaten a huge breakfast and had a much needed bath.  When he eats a Nutri-Grain cereal bar, he uses his whole body, and it’s not pretty.

We left around 4:00 to drive to Jackson for a goodbye supper for our niece, Caroline, who leaves Thursday for college.  I really can’t talk about it much.  I’m still in denial that she’s old enough for this to be happening, seeing as how she was only about 5 the last time I looked.  My brother- and sister-in-law hosted the get-together.  Their youngest child, Emma, greeted Tater Tot at the Jeep and that’s the last we saw of either of them except to eat about 4 bites of their hamburgers.  Emma is 8 and can boss Tater Tot around in a really sweet way, and Tater Tot loves it.  He thinks Emma is the queen of the world.

We loaded everyone up around 7:30 and made it back home with two Taters fast asleep in the back seat.  They barely woke up enough for us to change them into pajamas and tuck them into bed.

Yes, our weekend was full of MODNAR activities, none of which were exciting at all, but exactly what we needed.

I hope yours was just what you needed, too.

(By the way, the blog switchover will most likely happen sometime this week.  (BIG GRIN!)  Please say you’ll follow me to my new home!  Purty, purty please!)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 08:49:02

    Okay, this is hysterical. I just said the same thing about “random” posts and how to title them just last week, I think! Too funny…maybe I’ll try out MODNAR and see how that goes!

    And yeah, Mama, I’ll be followin’ to your new blog zone!

    Reply

  2. Quirky is a Compliment
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 10:28:41

    I love Modnar! I think I may steal it from you. And these little peeks into other people’s lives are sometimes the best posts to read. Normal to you, but incredibly interesting to me.

    Reply

  3. meghan @ spicy magnolia
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 14:22:02

    I’ll definitely follow! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

