At Least We Made It One Week

We made it through one whole week of school before Tater Tot came down with some little bug, so I’m home today with the little ones while trying to nurse Tater Tot back to health.  I think he’s nearly recovered, but every now and then he comes to find me for just a little more snuggling.  Suits me.

Yesterday afternoon he complained that his neck was hurting, he had a headache, and he was running just a smidge of fever.  It wasn’t high, but enough to make him feel lousy.  I knew we wouldn’t make it to school today when he refused a snack yesterday afternoon, a sure sign of sickness.

He’s curled up on the sofa watching something on Disney while his little brother wreaks havoc with every toy he can find.  The den looks like a war zone.  It was relatively tidy a few hours ago.  It pains me a little to wander in there, but what are you going to do with two little boys?  It’s their job to play.  And mama’s job is to pick up the debris.  Seems fair.

I can’t help but think about my little group of 21 second graders, and I wonder if they’re driving the sub nuts or charming the shoes right off of her.  It’s not like they’ve established a solid routine on only day 6 of school, so I’m a little nervous.  Plus, the plans that I emailed another teacher were, “I don’t care what they do as long as they’re busy and don’t spend the whole day in the bathroom.”  I may get back tomorrow and find that every lesson I’ve planned for the entire week has been taught.  Oh, well, such is life when there are little ones at home who like to remind you who’s really in charge.  :)

Like I said, Tater Tot is on the mend and Small Fry is blasting full speed ahead.  By the way, he’s really bad about grabbing a phone and dialing, so if you pick up your phone and hear, “DAHHHHHHHHH!” then you’ve been contacted by the smallest tater.  I just thought I’d throw that in.

I hope your day is perfect!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:07:22

    Glad to hear T.T.’s feeling better. We prayed for him this morning on the way to school. :) They were fine yesterday, Noah told me the sub was really nice. She just dropped them off in the cafeteria, then bolted, though. I went in the line with them to make sure they behaved for the nice ladies in there. ;) Glad you’re back today! You were missed.

    Reply

  2. Quirky is a Compliment
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:33:04

    Poor Tater Tot! I hope he bounces back soon! And can I tell you how much I love that SF is calling random people on the phone? That is hysterical! Maybe you can get him a part time job at a call center somewhere. I’d much rather talk to him about how to switch my long distance service than the people who call me now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

