Little Boys

One of my favorite people in the whole wide world was my great-aunt, who was the mother of three boys.  She passed away a couple of months before Tater Tot came along, and I so regret that those two will never know each other.  Let me tell you, honey, they would be as thick as thieves!

 

When Tater Tot was about six months old or so, one of her sons gave this poem to me.  My aunt, an incredibly talented artist, had sketched one of her son’s profiles above the poem.  It’s framed and hangs in Tater Tot’s room, and I absolutely adore it.  Here’s hoping you enjoy it, too.

 

WHAT ARE LITTLE BOYS MADE OF?

 

Snips and snails and puppy-dog tails?

Certainly not!  These miniature males

Are made of wonder and stubborn pride

And chuckles and good clean dirt from outside.

 

They are made of sweetness that’s nine-tenths guile

And mischief redeemed by an angelic smile.

They are made of curiosity and devotion,

But mostly they’re made of perpetual motion!

 

                                                                                                                   Author Unknown

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Upside Brown
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 20:15:29

    this is where you are! keep ’em coming…. reading your blog makes me hungry… hmmmm…. i am loving me some murn! miss you, my sweet friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

