It’s Too Hot To Cook Something Hot…So I’m Not

Wouldn’t it have been perfect if the first thing I wrote about in the Recipes section was FRIED CHICKEN?  Oh, I would just love it if I were

(A) a fast study;

(B) not afraid of hot grease; and

(C) living in part of the world where my kitchen is NOT 247 degrees at 5:00 in the afternoon in August.  

 

Oh, for Pete’s sake, it is soooo hot.  I just bet that I could put a skillet of Crisco out on the deck, wait a few minutes, throw the chicken in it, and ta-da!  A few minutes later, we’d be dining out on fried chicken.  But that’d be like cheatin’!

 

Well, I am no cheater!  I’ll wait until I can learn to fry chicken the right way.  With the firefighters standing right outside the kitchen door.  

 

It’s just too hot to write about anything that has to be cooked, so I thought I’d start with a good old salad. This is always a big hit whenever I take it anywhere, and it’s soooo easy!  A teacher-friend shared the recipe several years ago and I am awfully grateful.  Since it’s so hot and all, I think I might pick up a rotisserie chicken at the grocery store while I get all the stuff for the salad.  Within a few minutes of getting home, VOILA!  Supper is ready!  Tater Daddy will be happy not to have another grilled cheese sandwich, and I will be happy to eat supper without feeling like I’m in a sauna.  Everyone wins!

 

GREEN SALAD WITH FRUIT

1 large head red or green leaf lettuce

1 (11 oz) can mandarin oranges, drained

1 cup strawberries, sliced

1 kiwi, peeled and sliced

1 cup blueberries

1/2 cup chopped celery

1 pkg. slivered almonds, toasted

 

DRESSING

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup tarragon vinegar

3 TBSP sugar

1/2 tsp Tabasco sauce

Salt and Pepper to taste

 

To prepare dressing, combine first five ingredients.  Add salt and pepper to taste, mixing well to blend.

Tear lettuce into bite-size pieces and place in a large salad bowl.  Add fruit, celery, and almonds.  Toss with desired amount of dressing.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

