Yum, Yum! Pass Me Another Helping of That Scrumptious Crow!

You know the saying, “Never say never”?  There’s a reason people say that.

Before Tater Tot came along I taught 3rd and 1st grades in two great schools.  Overall, I had wonderful students and parents and enjoyed teaching very much.  But, you know, you teach long enough and you start to make several observations and declarations and such.  Especially if you don’t have your own children yet.  Since we didn’t think we’d ever have a Tater Tot, it was easy for things to cross my mind as being odd…or inconsiderate…or lazy…or whatever.  (I try to be pretty laid back about most things, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have opinions.  Know what I’m sayin’?)

Through the years, though, I did come up with a few I will nevers and such.  Which is why I’m getting used to EATING CROW.  For example:

1.  Children need a nutritional breakfast. I will never send my child to school hyped up on sugar.  I agree that children need a good breakfast.  I really do.  My mother got up every morning and fixed my brother and me any combination of eggs, bacon, toast, grits, cream-of-wheat, pancakes,  biscuits, or sausage with orange juice and/or milk.  It’s not like we had a buffet or anything, but we sat down for a hot breakfast.  

For the life of me, I could NOT understand why these very well-educated parents of the students I was teaching were sending their children to school having had Pop-Tarts and cinnamon rolls coated in sugary icing for breakfast.

Why I am eating crow:  Thanks to Tater Daddy’s influence, Tater Tot LOVES him some blueberry Pop-Tarts, and because we were running late today, he walked into Parents’ Day Out holding one.  Truth be told, it wasn’t the first time.

2.  How hard is it to read what is sent home in the students’ backpacks?  I worked like the devil on a weekly newsletter for my students and parents.  I had cute fonts and even cuter graphics.  I spent a lot of time trying to think up funny little titles to get their attention.  I stayed up late to make sure I got that newsletter ready for the coming week, and I went to school early to make sure it got copied in time to send home.  And I would STILL  get phone calls at home or emails marked “urgent” asking when something was due.  WHEN IT WAS CLEARLY PRINTED IN THE NEWSLETTER!!!  

How hard is it to read, people?

Why I am eating crow:  A newsletter came home in Tater Tot’s little backpack Wednesday.  It covered everything for the rest of this month and all of September.  It clearly said, in more than one place, that starting next week, Wednesdays are Pizza Days through next month.  

So of course I sent Tater Tot with $2.50 today and no lunchbox.  I handed his teacher his money and she just looked at me and said, “Wednesdays!”  I returned 20 minutes later with his little lunchbox.  And a gift card to a local deli for the teacher.  Because I know what was going through her head when I walked away the first time.

3.  You’re a stay-at-home mom.  Why are you up here looking like homemade sin?  This one used to just kill me, because the first school I taught in pulled from a very, very affluent part of the community and a lot of the moms wouldn’t be caught dead going for their morning speed-walk without a designer outfit, hair looking perfect, and face made up in full war paint.  But then sometimes you’d see them come into the school in the middle of the day looking like something the cat left on the doorstep.  And they’d always say something like, “Oh, I just haven’t had time to shower or anything today. I’ve been so busy,” which made me giggle to myself.  I’d think, What on earth do you do all day?  It’s not like you have to get up and be at work by a certain time.  How hard is it to wash your hair and throw on some mascara and lip gloss?

Why I am eating crow:  I have been staying at home with Tater Tot since we brought him home from the hospital two years ago.  I still haven’t showered, washed my hair, put on make-up or changed my clothes.

The first bite of crow was a little hard to get down.  After that, it got a lot easier.

I think I’ll try the next batch deep-fried.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calista
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 00:23:06

    Alright sista, I think we ARE cut from the same “yard goods” as my mama would say. I just typed and saved a blog titled “Now why’d I Say That?” about a lot of these same things. Then,,,I pop over here to read your blog and I had to laugh out loud. I’m glad I didn’t post it. I’ll hang onto it for a while….HAHA..I did not teach, so mine are not exactly the same, but the third one, oh man, I have had that crow every way you can cook it. LOL

    Reply

  2. Ginny
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 19:22:46

    All I’ve got to say is “BEEN THERE,DONE THAT!!!” I am a MUCH more understanding teacher post children then BC!!!!
    Can’t wait until Thursday!!!

    Reply

  3. Upside Brown
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 20:35:56

    Girl…. I’ve eaten crow many o’times but of course, I cannot relate to children crow…. Just know – you ain’t purfect…. and if I was Bo’s teacher, I’d be thinking, “That Mama is sho’nuf the stuff.” Instead of a beach trip, how bout coming to Starkvegas. pick up Ginny and “ya’ll come”!!!!

    Lotsa To Walk on Fertile Ground blogs comin’. Been decaffeinating myself and boy do I have some stories!

    Reply

  4. Lora Lynn
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 13:33:18

    This cracks me up!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Eating Crow Isn’t So Bad « Tater Tales

Leave a Reply

