Is There a 12-Step Program?

Hello.  My name is Tater Mama, and I am addicted to reading blogs.

I’ve always heard that the first step in beating any addiction is admitting that that a problem exists.  Okay, I’ve admitted it.

It’s getting bad, folks.  I mean, really bad.

Several weeks ago I was listening to Behind the Blog.  I had stumbled upon a description of the show only the week before while blog-hopping, and as luck would have it, Boo Mama was the guest. Well, slap me silly, I had just enough time to skip on over and listen in!  I must say, she was excellent, as I knew she would be.  The next week, Big Mama was the guest, and who doesn’t want to hear Big Mama talk?  She’s Big Mama, after all.  Now, the show runs from noon until 1:30, which normally wouldn’t make a difference in my day.  The thing is, I had an appointment at 1:00 that day and knew it would take me about 10 minutes to get there if I hit all the green lights, which was SO not likely.  I started reading a couple of blogs at about 10:00 or so and figured that I needed to get in the shower by 11:15 at the very latest in order to have my hair washed and dried, my make-up done, and my clothes put on in the proper place. Or at least somewhere close.

At 11:55, I was logging on to Behind the Blog, still sitting in the same chair I was sitting in nearly two hours earlier.  When I finally got in the tub, AT 12:15, I took my laptop into the bathroom with me and set it up so that I could at least read the what the online chatters were saying…and dry my hands to chime in occasionally.  I took what was probably the fastest shower in history and washed most of my hair.  I didn’t even bother to get all of the shampoo out, and I only dried my bangs because it’s absolutely necessary.  As for make-up, I grabbed my bag and put it on in the car, which I NEVER do.  

Y’ALL! I don’t think this kind of behavior is normal!  And the frightening thing is, there’s more.

One day last week, while Tater Tot was at Parents’ Day Out, I had an appointment to get my hair cut.  Woo-wee, honey!  Sistuh needed a haircut worse than Cousin Itt!  I was reading blogs before I left, and because there are some talented and downright funny bloggers out there, I was 10 minutes late.  FOR A HAIR APPOINTMENT! Come on, girls, you know that’s a red flag.  Red flag!  Red flag!  Red flag!

Ohhhhh!  I’m in such a tizzy!

Yesterday, I wrote about our little overnight trip to visit my mother so that Tater Tot and Poopsie could get their mutual “fix.”  And it was great.  But I’ve started hauling my laptop with me for these little overnight trips, because Poopsie is wireless!  I knew that I wouldn’t have time to work on Tater Tales, but I figured I could do a little blog reading here and there.  I caught my mother giving me a few worried glances, but I just couldn’t help myself.

Oh!  And in the event that a visitor to my silly little blog leaves a comment and has her (or his) own blog, I can’t get to it fast enough.  Chances are that there’s a blogroll on this new site, and I just have to check out every single one that I’m not already reading on a regular basis! 

 If the visitor doesn’t have a blog but leaves an email address, I’ll write back as quick as a cricket! Ah, the rush of a new interwebspace friend!  What is it, y’all?  I do not understand it?  Truly, I do not understand it.  

I’m addicted, I tell you.  ADDICTED!  It’s like that old Lays Potato Chips slogan, Betcha Can’t Eat Just One. Well, I can’t read just one.  I want to read them ALL!

So, I’m wondering if this addiction is something that afflicts all of us bloggers when we’re new to bloggyland.  Is it something that you just learn to fit into your day, like reading the newspaper or eating a box of Pop-Tarts or Oreos or whatever? (You do that, too, right?)  Does the addiction subside on its own, or am I going to have to seek professional help?  And if that’s the case, is there a 12-Step Program out there for blog readers?  It doesn’t even have to be anything “anonymous,” because I am not ashamed that I love to read what so many witty and talented people have to write.  I just need to find a way to cope.  Or to manage my time.  Or something!

Again, my name is Tater Mama, and I’m addicted to reading blogs.  Yours is probably next.  I can’t wait to stop writing so I can get busy reading.

Here I come, bloggers!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calista
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 18:19:07

    I think it’s time for an intervention!! I too, must admit the illness. I think it’s cause I don’t have have a life, or not much of one anyway. I so love my kiddos but it’s nice to “talk” to big people….My sister asked me yesterday to join My Space, and I don’t just don’t think I can have one more thing to leave comments on. What’s a sistuh to do???

    Reply

  2. Lora Lynn
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 17:42:42

    You are normal. And I twitch a little if I can’t get to my reader or my comments by nine AM. Nothing wrong with that, is there?

    Reply

  3. JLI
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 16:49:49

    It’s normal. I swear it is. It must be, cause I’m doin’ it too and dernit, I’m not plum weird!!! Okay, that’s a lie. Yes I am. And no, you’re not the only one eatin’ Pop Tarts by the box full. I kid you not, I just finished up some microwaved strawberry Pop Tarts before I read this post. At almost 4 in the afternoon. 30 seconds in the m’wave and they are mmm’y!!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: « Because I Believe

Leave a Reply

