I Have a Sweet Tooth for Some iCandy

I left a quick post yesterday that I was headed to the Apple Store to buy a battery for my laptop because the old one wouldn’t hold a charge for longer than a sneeze, and I had my fears as to how the trip would affect my life.  You know, as in, would I live to tell about it.

Obviously, the answer is OH. MY. STINKING. WORD!

I have a white laptop and the only battery they had was for a black one.  What do I care if the battery doesn’t match?  It’s on the bottom.  Plus, black and white look great together.  There’s a whole store dedicated to the color scheme.  And let’s not forget the Oreo.  Delicious and stylish.  So I bought that black battery for $129 (before taxes), and here’s what my sweet little laptop looks like from the bottom.

That dark blob is Pearl.  In her sleeping, snoring state, she’s serving as my lovely canine assistant.  She looks like an oil slick, doesn’t she?  She sounds like a jackhammer.  But I digress.

When I picked up my battery, I was told that once the white batteries come in I can bring the black one in and swap it for one that matches my laptop.  Seriously?  That’s awfully nice, but I think I should keep the one I bought, don’t you?  I hate to return a perfectly good battery just because of the color.  Feel free to tell me what YOU think.  Does it matter what a computer’s bedonkidonk looks like?

I have to give a big SHOUT OUT to my friend, Amy, who met us at the store.  We were in the same boat regarding our batteries, and she had just bought a new one the day before.  Always up for an outing, and the occasional harmless mischief should the circumstances arise, Amy guided me toward the iPhones – which she believes we both desperately need – and then entertained Tater Tot while a very nice sales person showed me the aforementioned phone.

I nearly died right there in the store, which I feared might happen.  The fact that a graham cracker-sized gadget can run your world is staggering, so that caused me to partially lose consciousness.  And then I became really interested!  The more interested I became, the more excited I got, which led to me nearly keel over from heart palpitations.  This must happen a lot, because every staff member at the store rushed over, ready to perform CPR with the instructions flashing on every monitor. I was quite impressed.

Now, I have a very nice little cell phone.  It’s skinny and silver and I have no idea how long I’ve had it.  Tater Daddy picked it out for me when I ran over misplaced my last one and said, “This one is going to last a while.  It’s a razor,” or something like that.  I have no idea what that means.  For all I know I can shave my legs with it.  Amy keeps asking me if my “plan” includes texting.  I’ve received text messages, but I’ll be darned if I know how to send one, so I haven’t even bothered to find out if texting is included in my monthly plan.  Fear of the technology, you know.  I have never given cell phones much thought because all I’ve ever wanted from one was for it to let me carry on a clear conversation with the person on the other end.

But that little iPhone?  It’s kind of cute.  I really, really, really liked it and all of its fabulous features.  Then I came home and watched a little video about it on Apple’s website, and I decided that I LOVE it. It’s not so scary after all.

It’s kind of sweet…like candy.  Or should I say “iCandy?”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lora Lynn
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 12:33:03

    It’s a slippery slope, my friend. That iPhone has been just plain wonderful for the whole family. Once you go that route, you can’t go back, though!

    Reply

  2. upsidebrown
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 14:10:54

    Someone has a birthday in a few months!!! Sounds like you might also need a new toothbrush for all that candy!!! Go get ’em, girl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

