I’ll Think of a Title Right After My Nap

Tater Tot is at Parents’ Day Out, and the house is quiet and cool.  All four dogs are curled up, snoozing on different pieces of furniture.  A gentle rain is falling outside.  It’s the perfect time for a little nap.

Come to think of it, any time is a good time for a little nap, wouldn’t you agree?  Please agree.  I’ll feel so much better if you do.  That way I won’t feel so guilty about being a serial napper.  I cannot tell a lie.  I love to snuggle up on the sofa with a nice pillow and a soft blanket and go to sleep in the middle of the day. Heaven. On.  Earth.  The only thing that makes it better is if Zeus curls up at my feet.  I’m yawning just thinking about it.

When I was in college, I think I took a nap just about every afternoon.  (Kristi and/or Diane, if you’re reading, feel free to jump in with a comment since you lived with me.)  Mmmm…it was wonderful.

When I was a sophomore, I had to take a class in which I learned everything I ever wanted to know about Mississippi State because I’d interviewed for and been chosen as a student recruiter.  The class counted as an elective, and it met three times a week for an hour.  The first couple of classes were spent getting to know each other better.  

I remember that one girl was telling us about herself, and she told us that she just loved squeezing every minute out of every day.  She said something like, “Sometimes I get really tired and I think about taking a nap, but I can’t  because I am afraid that I might miss something fun and exciting. I even hate to go to sleep at night.” 

Well, y’all, I thought she was being funny and I laughed right out loud. Turns out she was dead serious.  So I had to do that cough and clap and “Yeah!” thing that immediately told everyone who the napper in the group was.  I’m such a dork.  But I’m a very well-rested dork, even though I look like I’m in perpetual need of Botox.

I have friends and a couple of family members who are such go-getters.  I even know people who LOVE to clean their houses if they have any spare time…even if their houses aren’t dirty.  They’ll just re-clean a clean house. They say it soothes them, and then they say that it’s part of their OCD.  Obviously, I do not suffer from it.  Things here in the Tater house do not have to be in perfect order for me to be able to rest well.  I do not have to unload the dishwasher (wearing oven mitts) the second the machine cuts off.  Every stitch of laundry does not have to be finished every day.  Every commode does not have to be scrubbed after every use.  It’ll all be there when I wake up from a little nap.  And I’ll get to it, but it’s not going to soothe me or make me feel like I’ve conquered Mt. Everest.  It’s just going to make me feel like I’ve just cleaned the house and washed clothes.

A good nap, on the other hand, makes me feel…like I can’t wait for the next one.

I’m guessing it’s part of my OND.  Obsessive Napping Disorder.

Zzzzzzzzzz………….

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calista
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 00:31:41

    I hear ya!! You know why we need naps? We are up bloggin’ all night!

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 01:12:44

    LOL so true.

    Reply

  3. Melanie
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 11:43:00

    Amen, Amen and Amen!!! I’m with ya, sister! If I’m not complaining about being tired…well, I’m always complaining about being tired ’cause I never get to take the naps I so desperately crave. Enjoy one for me, ok?

    By the way, I have an award for you. Come on over to my blog to pick it up.

    Thanks for the blessings.
    Melanie

    Reply

  4. Upside Brown
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 09:32:11

    Naps ain’t for sissies!! I actually learned HOW to nap from you, Tater Mama. Until we met, I hadn’t napped in the day since Kindergarten. I think I was emotionally scarred from having a different nap mat than everyone else.

    Reply

  5. Mrs Lemon
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 13:16:04

    I’m actually on my way to a nap right now 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

