I Still Heart Rick Springfield. I Can’t Help It.

The last couple of posts were excruciatingly long.  If you read them and came back to Tater Tales, well, my hat is off to you.  Thanks for hanging in there with me.

This one should be relatively short.

Rick Springfield.  Mid-South Fair.  September 25.  Main Stage.  Free with fair admission.

AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!  

I was 12 when Working Class Dog came out.  My brother gave me the album, yes – the ALBUM – for Christmas that year and I had to have the needle replaced on my stereo’s record player within a few months.  And the picture on the cover of Living in Oz?  I KNOW you remember.  The stubble?  The white t-shirt and leather vest?  I am light-headed just thinking about it!  I LOVED LOVED LOVED RICK SPRINGFIELD!  Tall, dark-headed, beautiful Rick Springfield.

Now, in general, I am not a fair-going kind of gal.  I used to be, but over the years the fun kind of wore off.  Especially when the nightly news led off with reports of how many people were injured by random gunshots.  But things have gotten much better in recent years.

And did I mention that Rick Springfield will be on the main stage on September 25?  And that I loved him with all my heart from the time I was 12 until the time I was 14?  I never got to see him in concert, but I was absolutely certain that if I did, he would spot me in the crowd and know how much I loved him just from that special glimmer in my eyes. Or maybe it would have been the reflection from all the lights bouncing off my braces.  For Pete’s sake, I was twelve.

But now I’m much older.

My point is that I’ll be at the Mid-South Fair on the 25th, my friends.  I’ll finally get to see him in concert.  I feel like I’m 12 again.  Or at least 14.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calista
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 10:33:52

    Tater Mama, how I lurve thee and think we most positively were separated at birth. My comment may well be longer than your post. But I suspect you already knew this was gonna generate a comment from this girl. A few weeks back on August 23rd my husband and children were bewildered when I asked what they thought we should do that day to celebrate Rick’s birthday.

    Just like you, I was 12 when Working Class Dog came out, and my brother bought it for me as well. It has always made me feel closer to him.

    I was sooo forbidden to watch soap operas, but found myself sneaking to the television around 2ish on summer afternoons to catch a glimps of Dr. Noah Drake.

    My favorite album cover was ‘Success Hasn’t Spoiled Me Yet’ with his cute little turned up nose from the side view as he served his faithful doggie Ron and all his girlfriends in the back of the limo…oh as the teen years levee breaks, my mind is flooded with memories.

    I am so sad for you that you never been to one of his concerts him. I assure you that you are correct in that you would have known for sure that he was searching the audience for your eyes, and shiny braces of course. I saw him at Barton Colloseum in Little Rock, and at Mid-South in Memphis. You will finally get your day girl!! You so should wear slightly rolled jeans and one blue Converse and one purple one. Might I even suggest a bandana tied around your right leg. You know the look!

    I too was in teen lust over him from 12 to 14. I knew I was gonna be Mrs. Springfield someday, I guess it never occured to me that he was entertaining troops in Vietnam when I was being born….a little too old maybe? Oh time means nothing when you are 13. Could you imagine if we had been given accesss to the internet back then. OH.MY. we would have had non-stop Rick.

    Reply

  2. 86753oh9
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 14:18:53

    It’s amazing how quick Rick Springfield can send most women in their 30’s spiraling out of control and into a 12-year-old frenzy!!

    2 words –

    I’m jealous.

    Reply

  3. Shannon
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 15:44:50

    I have been a loyal Rick Springfield fan since I was 11 years old. I have seen him in concert many times (he is an incredible performer). I have also met him & he is very unassuming & sweet. I highly suggest you check out the CD Shock/Denial/Anger/Acceptance (2004), it is a hard rocking, emotional album; just really good listening. And if you don’t yet have Venus in Overdrive, go pick up a copy (Best Buy has a limited edition version with songs/video you can download onto your PC). You will have an amazing time at the concert…he has endless energy. Can you believe he is 59? I swear that man has a painting in his attic that ages for him!!

    As for RS turning 30+ year old women into a 12 yr. old hormone induced frenzy? Well, just look at him…he only got better with age.

    Reply

  4. scaccesstojustice
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 21:11:34

    check out some photos – http://scaccesstojustice.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

