It’s…I mean…But…Ugh

I strolled down the driveway to the mailbox Wednesday in my sleeveless tee, shorts, and flip flops.  The temperature was about 92 degrees in the shade, and I considered stopping for a rest during my 22-second journey to down a bottle of Power-Aid. But I didn’t have any with me, so trudged ahead and cursed myself for not planning for emergencies.  

Luckily I made it to the mailbox with enough strength to pry open the little door, and there it was.

The Christmas 2008 L.L. Bean catalog.

It immediately occurred to me that:

  • The fall season hasn’t even officially begun and won’t for about another week.
  • We still have mosquitoes big enough to be mistaken for humming birds.
  • Waving hello to your neighbor could cause a heat stroke if you are not properly hydrated.
  • My zinnias are still blooming, for Pete’s sake.

And the people at L.L. Bean have sent out a catalog full of flannel shirts, fleece pullovers, wool sweaters, and long underwear.  They want me to know that it’s not to early to start my holiday shopping.

Am I the only one who thinks that, Yeah, it kinda is?  Or have you already finished all of your Christmas shopping, wrapped everything, and hidden it away for the big day?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Naturally Caffeinated Family
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 22:16:15

    LOL, it’s not even fall in the southwest yet! The only reason I have given it any thought so far is because people around me are already! Already?! I guess I am a bit of a procrastinator 🙂 but already? ha!

    Reply

  2. Mrs Lemon
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 00:53:44

    No kidding, my aunt-in-law mentioned Christmas today and I about had a coronary. But, she has an excuse for being extry early, her daughter is getting married just a few days before Christmas.

    I would take that opportunity to skip Christmas. But then, I am not supermom either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

