And It’s Only Taken 30-Something Years to Learn Why…

So one day about six months ago, I had a message to call a friend I went to junior high and high school with.  I guess we’re technically related because she married a distant cousin.  He was also in our class, and he and I went to college together.  Bless his heart.  I didn’t have a car my freshman year, and he hauled me back and forth whenever he was going home for the weekend or holidays.  That really has nothing to do with what I’m writing about except for the fact that we all graduated from high school together.

I called her back and we were chatting along and talking about the fact that our 20th high school reunion was coming up in the fall.  She was kind of spearheading the thing and was trying to put together a committee, blah, blah, blah.  

Now let me just tell you.  This girl has always been a go-getter.  Usually the job of planning a reunion falls to whomever was senior class president, but evidently the 10th reunion was so horrible that our actual president bailed on this one.  Plus, she had twins several months ago. My friend was our vice president and is the kind of person who would just hate for us not to get together for a 20th reunion.  (In addition to getting this thing going, she and her husband have 2 small children, she is a bank community president, and has just started participating in triathlons.  I know.  A total go-getter.)

She told me some of the people who had agreed to help with the committee and she said they needed someone to take care of the mail-outs, save-the-dates, registration information, reminders, and such.  She said, “We thought of asking you because you were the yearbook editor,” and I said, “I was?”  I couldn’t tell you one thing about putting that yearbook together.

Anyway, I agreed to be on the committee.  It’s been time-consuming, but it’s been very interesting. Because I’ve done the mailings, I’ve been able to see where a lot of our classmates have ended up.  One of our friends can’t attend the reunion because he’s a Lt. Colonel in the Marines and has just arrived in Okinawa as the commander of a military base.  I think that’s the neatest thing I’ve learned so far.  

We’ve had several meetings that I’ve had to go “home” for, but it’s only an hour’s drive, and I’m always looking for an excuse anyway.  At the first meeting, I got distracted at some point or zoned out or something because I clearly was not paying attention to the discussion that was going on.

Please, please, please!  Learn from my mistakes, all three readers out there!  I am making mistakes right and left so that you might benefit from them.  People have tried to teach me this one all of my life, and it’s taken all these years to understand why!

Before you answer a question, make sure you have listened to said question.

Otherwise, you might find yourself in charge of creating a slideshow for your 20th class reunion.  A slideshow for which FIVE people sent pictures, which means there might be some digging to do.  A slideshow that might require scanning and such.  A slideshow for which people might be expecting background music.  A slideshow that might have to burned onto 50 CDs.  By this Saturday.  

And you know I am not good with technology.

So, I’ll be in and out this week.  And by that, of course, I mean in and out of consciousness.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 16:59:15

    What a huge task for a short amount of time … unless your graduating class was in the single digits, like 5! You’ll be burning the candle at both ends till then, but I know it will turn out great. Seems like technology pushes us forward whether we go kicking and screaming or not. Good luck … YOU CAN DO IT!

    Reply

  2. Calista
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 21:02:07

    Hey girl. Go to http://www.onetruemedia.com. it’s idiot proof. I’m not saying your in an idiot, cause your not, but well, um,,,yours truly is, and I was able to figure it out. You can upload your pics from your p.c. and add background music and even frames to the pics. Then copy to html and put it on your pc and run it from there. If you want to buy a copy of the cd you can…..anyway just go there and take a looksee. I know you will do a great job!!

    Reply

  3. Mrs Lemon
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 16:24:57

    LOL! our 10th reunion sucked so bad, I can’t even tell you how bad it was. Let’s just say at one point they were playing “Ice, Ice Baby”

    That’s just so sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

