Memories…..

“Memories, pressed between the pages of my mind….”

Ah, Elvis had a song for just about anything, didn’t he?  I’m still working on the slideshow, in case you’re wondering.  Everything is scanned.  Now I’m working on burning the CDs.  Can you say, “FOREVER?”

I  managed to find the time to slip away yesterday and have my hair, ahem, perked up.  Thanks to the wonderful workings of my longtime hair magician, my roots are no longer visible from space.  Holla!

So, you want to see the slideshow, eh?  I promise you that you really don’t.  It’s long and it’s not very good.  But for you, my bloggity friends, I’ll make up a shortened version.  Sometime.  Here’s a teaser from our prom.

I’m third from the left.  Oh, yes, friends.  I chose the dress with the sweetheart neckline, puffy sleeves, tulle tea-length skirt.  AND I wore pearls.  I was forever wearing pearls.  WHO wears pearls to the prom?  I mean, really?  The girl in the blue dress is coming to the reunion and just got married in May.  She’s a super-duper career gal.  The other peach-clad girl isn’t coming, and our friend wearing black and white didn’t even go to our school!  She went to the prom with a friend of ours.  I suppose I should have cropped the picture, but I’m guessing that most people will think she went to school with us and figure that they just can’t remember her name.  We were a smart bunch, let me tell you.

I would almost be embarrassed to share the picture, but I’ve reached the age where there’s WAY more to be embarrassed about than having worn a lampshade to prom.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 07:51:05

    I too went as a lampshade to my prom (a blue one) … with reenforcements under the skirt (a hoop!). Can’t wait to hear how the reunion went!

    Reply

  2. kim sue
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 11:49:01

    I came over from my friend Ginny’s brand new blog. I had time to visit a little and thought I would say “hi” rather than just lurking about. I can’t wait to hear stories about the reunion and to have the chance to read some of your older posts. Come by and visit if you have the time. I always love hearing more stories from southern girls. See you in blogland, Kim Sue

    Reply

  3. Calista
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 21:27:59

    I’m so glad you’re home. Was it FUN??

    Reply

  4. ginnyslp
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 21:41:20

    WHERE’S THE BLOG ABOUT THE REUNION????? I cannot wait to hear about it!!!!

    Reply

  5. Upside Brown
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 08:51:56

    When we moved into our house, that same shade of peach was on the walls in our den. There was also a parasol plastered to the same walls. I should’ve saved it for you.

    But just so you’ll know… misery loves company and my senior prom dress was peach too. But it was a one-shouldered little number. Based on some of the trends today, I’d say I was ahead of my time. Based on the pearls around your neck, I’d say, you’re simply timeless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

