He Is His Own Night-Light

About a week ago we had the most wonderful cool spell where the highs during the day were in the low 80s and the nighttime lows were in the upper 60s.  There was much rejoicing.  The dogs, even old-man Zeus, frolicked and had a little extra pep in those paws.  For the first time in months I didn’t hear a single person ask, “Is it hot enough for ya?”  That alone called for its own little happy dance.

You would think that with the lower temperatures showing us some love and all we would’ve turned the thermostat down a little, especially at night.  However, I am married to a man who is almost never cold and if he is cold, it’s either temporary or he’s as sick as a dog.  In the dead of winter, this man might go to bed in pajama pants and a tee shirt, but it’s only a matter of time before he starts complaining about how hot he is.  We live in a house that dates back to at least the 1860s.  In most parts of the house, there is no sub-floor; take up a board and you see dirt just 36 inches below you.  THIS HOUSE GETS COLD!

In all of my wordiness, basically what I’m saying is that Tater Daddy likes things on the cool side, and I have to agree that I’d rather be a little cool than hot.  So even during the recent cool spell, we didn’t change the thermostat setting very often, and even then it was only by a degree or two.

Tater Tot’s room is the smallest in the house and it is also the one that stays the coolest.  Because I didn’t want a frozen Tater Tot – we have enough in the freezer, thank-you-very-much – I decided to dress him in the new pajamas I got him for late fall and winter.  I’d stumbled upon a sale several weeks back and got 2 pairs for the price of one.  They’re not Gap pajamas (the softest PJs ever) like I usually buy, but they were Carter’s and I’ve always been pleased with their clothes.  And did I mention the great sale?

After his bath, I dressed him in a short-sleeved tee shirt and a pair of his new pajama bottoms.  Let me tell you, folks, he was C-U-T-E in those little white pants with alligators, lions, and elephants!  Talk about an excited little boy.  Woo-wee, he was tickled with his new pajamas!

After we read our books, I turned out the light and that’s when it started happening.  Gradually, Tater Tot’s pajamas were beginning to glow in the dark.  Soon I could see the neon yellow outlines of all of the animals on those little pants.  Tater Tot was so out of it that he didn’t even notice that he was all aglow.  I wanted to laugh and it took everything I had not to just let loose.

I’m not sure that I’m going to dress him in these pants all that often.  But I might hang them somewhere in Tater Tot’s room.  That way I can unplug the little nightlight that he already has and save some electricity, too.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs Lemon
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 12:07:20

    little boy pajamas are the cutest. Just something about seeing Zesty all bed-heady and lines on his face – and puppies all over his wittle itty bitty body 🙂

    Reply

  2. Calista
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 15:37:56

    I want some of those, maybe I could find my way to the bathroom without breaking all of my toes.

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 02:55:31

    LOL that happens to me, too! I never get that they glow in the dark until the kids are already wearing them and I have turned out the light!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

