A Country Boy At Heart

We may live in the city, but we’re doing everything possible to remind Tater Tot that his roots are in the country.  

It’s cotton pickin’ time in West Tennessee, and the white-dotted fields will soon be stripped of their fluffy bolls.  Here are some pictures of what we did for a little while yesterday afternoon. 

I hope you have a fluffy, cottony, soft, no-boll-weevil kind of Monday!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kim sue
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 06:36:36

    ah the sights of white cotton fields, the smell of defoliant and the sound of cropdusters….nothing like home!

    Reply

  2. Lora Lynn
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 08:15:31

    Oh, I love the smell of cotton. Makes me think of football…

    Have I asked you yet where in TN you are? My in-laws live in Jackson.

    Reply

  3. Upside Brown
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 09:44:08

    Shall we change his name to King Cotton?

    Reply

  4. Melanie
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 10:06:41

    My, my. You will never see a sight like that here up north that I’m aware of, that’s for sure. Neat.

    Reply

  5. thefarmerfiles
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 13:32:08

    What great pictures!!! I don’t think I have ever seen cotton fields. I love the one of him smelling the cotton.

    Reply

  6. Ginny
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 21:19:09

    I LOVE the cotton pictures!!! We didn’t grow it this year, and I’m kind-of sad; William said it wasn’t worth it this year, but it still breaks my heart! I also love the one where he is smelling the boll; it IS the flower of the south!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

