Unexpected Encouragement

I started thinking about writing a blog several months ago for a couple of different reasons.  First, Tater Daddy simply quit listening to my ramblings after nearly 14 years of marriage, and I needed someplace to spew them forth.

Okay, that was a joke.  Well, kind of.  If you’ve been married for a while, you know what I mean.  If you’ve only been married for, say, twenty minutes or so, never mind.  

The main reason I started Tater Tales was that I needed a little hobby, and I’ve (almost) always enjoyed writing.  And blogging is a relatively safe place for writers like myself.  I can write about whatever suits my fancy and then send it out into the bloggy wilderness.  I don’t have to worry about anyone else editing it before publishing. I’d like for all six readers out there to like the content, but I don’t have to run it by them before posting.  It’s very freeing to just write and publish and then not worry about it too much.

This blogging thing is sometimes tricky, though.  You want people to read and comment.  You spend a lot of time thinking of ways to write about the daily grind so that it will be entertaining, or interesting at the least, to those who happen across your blog.  And while I don’t think anyone starts a blog simply to boost her confidence (or ego, if you prefer), let’s face it, y’all.  It IS a boost when someone takes the time to comment.  Who wouldn’t love to check her blog stats and find, 20, 30, or hundreds of comments?

A couple of my friends have started blogs recently, and I’ve “met” some other bloggers out there who are also new at this.  We leave comments for each other several times a week, and I love it.  It’s a great way to encourage each other.  And who doesn’t need encouragement?  When you’re new at this, even if you aren’t doing it with the goal of becoming a bloggin’ celebrity, it’s nice when someone notices.

One of my newest blogging friends writes at Naturally Caffeinated Family.  She and her husband are a young couple with a son who’s a little over a year old.  I like reading her blog because she’s so full of energy and pep.  Hence the name, Naturally Caffeinated, I suppose, although she’s mentioning Starbucks more and more these days!  (Keeping up with a toddler will send you straight for the liquid caffeine, my friend!)

I was reading her post today and she’s been the recipient of several awards, all of which are well-deserved.  She’s “paying it forward” by giving these awards to some bloggers that she likes.  She passed one on to me, and that simple act of kindness has made my day.  

As a recipient, I’m asked to tell six things that make me happy and then select six of my favorite bloggers to receive the award.  It’s my pleasure.

Here are six things that make me happy:

  1. Knowing that I am a child of God and that there is nothing I can do to make Him love me more, and there is nothing I can do to make Him love me less.  What I do and say might not always please Him, but He will never stop loving me.  Perhaps “happy” isn’t the right word….  How about ecstatic!  This one makes me ecstatic!
  2. Everything about our son, who makes me laugh every day with his 2-year-old antics.  He can also make me cry with his antics…..  If you have children who are his age or older, I know you understand.  If you’ve ever tried to nail jello to a wall, you understand.  Remember…he’s TWO.
  3. A really good joke.
  4. Memories of my father.  They are all good.
  5. The first tomato of the summer, fresh from my mother’s garden.
  6. Laughter.  I love to laugh, and I love to hear other people – even strangers passing by – laughing.
I’d like to pass the award to these bloggers.  I hope you’ll stop by their blogs and get to know them.
  1. Kristi, my dear friend, at To Walk on Fertile Ground.  
  2. Ginny, another dear friend of 20 years, at 2 Farm Angels.  
  3. Kim Sue at Between Now and Then
  4. Melanie at Baby Steps of Faith.  
  5. Jeana at Laughter 4 Days to Come.
  6. Calista at Can I Get a Witness?  
Melanie gave me an award several weeks ago, but I was so stunned at having received one that I didn’t know where to go with it.  
With this award, I am supposed to share six things I support and six things I do not support.  Hmmm…..it’s an award that requires some thinking.  Okay, here goes.  And by the way, I’m passing the award to the same folks above.  Since I’m not supposed to give it back to Melanie, I’m sending it to Naturally Caffeinated Family.
Thanks, Melanie, for my first award and my first “encouragement visual!”
Things I support:
  1. Pouring money into finding a cure for lung cancer.  And all cancers, for that matter.
  2. Volunteering
  3. Free speech –  Whether I like what’s spoken or not; whether I agree with what’s said or not.
  4. Good manners
  5. Giving without expecting anything in return
  6. TEACHERS!  One of the best things we can do for our children and their education is to support their teachers.  (Oh, I could stand on my soapbox for hours on this one.)
Things I do not support:
  1. Racism.  In any form.
  2. Book-banning.  Can you imagine NOT being able to read To Kill a Mockingbird in high school?   
  3. The idea that global warming is a myth
  4. Unequal pay for men and women
  5. Puppy mills
  6. Rudeness 
If you’ve made it this far and fallen asleep less than twice, I’d love to give YOU an award!  Sadly, though, I don’t know how to create them! I hope it will be enough simply to say Thanks for hanging in there with me!
(Now, if anyone using WordPress knows how to insert these awards into the sidebar, please let me know!)
Happy Friday, all!
Note:  I must have hit a random button.  I don’t know what I’ve done to make the type act so our-of-sorts.  The technology.  It hates me, you know.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Naturally Caffeinated Family
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 11:49:18

    Wow, thank you so much!! You are soo sweet! I will get going on my list and passing it on! And great lists, love laughing too, so healthy and such a good medicine!

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 13:56:13

    I enjoy blogging for much the same reason… well that and it is my version of “electronic scrap booking” if you will!

    They even have a website that’ll download your blog for you and you can have it printed in a handy dandy hard back professional looking book, imagine that!

    In case you haven’t seen the site before here is the link http://www.blurb.com/book/blogbook?ce=google_blog&gclid=COXxoMWxz5UCFQNHFQodYSu6iA

    Oops where are my manners, I found your blog courtesy of a few of my friends LL over at VitaFamiliae, “D” @ Naturally Caffeinated Family and “R” @ the FarmerFiles.

    Reply

  3. Calista
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 15:25:10

    Thank you for the props girl. You are too sweet. I’m so glad I ‘met’ you. I love laughing at Tater Tots antics, he’s such a little sweet ‘tater. I will get my list of 6 happy things together.

    Reply

  4. Lora Lynn
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 17:16:15

    Seriously, I could throw a party for all my friends who have now met other people they didn’t know and all read each other’s blogs now. (make sense?) I feel like the den mother in a sorority. Wait a sec, a den mother in the brownies? Do sororities have den mothers? Whatever. Anyway, I’m so happy all my IRL peeps are meeting all my Inter-web peeps.

    Reply

  5. Upside Brown
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 08:17:00

    leave it to you to pass the faith along!
    Thanks for this, my sweet friend.

    We’re all walking and living on fertile ground!

    Reply

  6. kim sue
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 16:10:44

    “well bless your heart”….. I can’t wait to check out the other nominees that I haven’t met yet!

    Reply

  7. Jenn
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 09:21:46

    Behind the times, as usual! I didn’t know such a thing existed, and well, it is pretty nifty!

    And I gotta give you an all-around “Yep, yep!” on reasons for blogging (not least of which being to watch your stats go up!). And wow, to have my blog printed into a book?!? Neat-o! I might check that out!

    Reply

  8. Jenn
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 09:22:34

    PS – still catching up on previous posts! 🙂 So much of what you say makes me feel like I’ve met my blogging twin. Weird. Many likenesses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

