It Was a Long Day

Tater Tot went to Mother’s Day Out a few days ago from 9:00 until 2:30.  While he was there I went to Target and spent a small fortune on diapers and diet cokes.  In case you’re wondering, the first were for him, the latter for Tater Daddy and me.  Although if we tried a pack of adult diapers we could add some serious time back into our day, what with all the diet coke drinking and subsequent bathroom visiting we do.

After my Target trip, I came home and cleaned like a woman possessed.  I may have mentioned before that I do not suffer from OCD and therefore don’t spend every waking moment cleaning and scrubbing and waxing and wiping and mopping.  For whatever reason, though, I tackled vacuuming — with the Dyson Animal.  I don’t know the rest of the Animal’s name, but I will tell you that it gets a house c-l-e-a-n.  It’s kind of an investment in time to use because you have to empty the canister as you go, but oh, how I do love the house after I’ve used it.  With four Labrador Retrievers around, I use it about every three or four days.  For every day vacuuming, we have an Oreck, which I lurve equally as much but for different reasons.

Seriously, how did I get so off track? Please excuse my mind’s wanderings.

As Tater Tot played with his posse at MDO, I continued my quest for clean.  I dusted, did somewhere around 241 loads of laundry, sorted through Tater Tot’s clothes for things that he’s outgrown, cleaned the kitchen, washed dishes, changed all the sheets, washed comforters, unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher, and I managed to bathe before picking him up.

He was on the playground, so I had to practically tackle him in order for us to leave.  We dropped off a prescription at Walgreen’s, took a load to Goodwill, and filled up our car’s nearly bone-dry gas tank for the bargain price of $40 and change.  That hasn’t happened since, like, 1983 or something.  It may have been more recently than that, but I honestly can’t remember when gas was as low as $2.99 a gallon.  

After saving so much money on gas, and with Tater Tot in such a chipper mood, we struck out for some new shoes for the little man.  I figured we’d be in and out of the shoe store in no time.  I was looking for a pair of Merrells (or something like them in the slip-on, non-sneaker family) for him in either tan or dark brown.  How hard could it be?

Note to self.  Don’t EVER ask that.

We went into the first store and the 15-year-old with burgundy eye shadow and black fingernail polish (not that there’s anything wrong with that) measured Tater Tot’s foot, and it hit between a 7 1/2 and an 8.  So she came out with an 8 1/2 in three styles (that I hadn’t asked for) and said, “Um, like, I think these might be too big, but he could probably still wear them.  And, like, you know, his foot is going to grow and everything.”  We were out of there in about 3.5 seconds.

Our next stop was Macy’s.  It turns out that they don’t carry children’s shoes.  At least ours doesn’t.  I don’t know if this is a storewide-thing or not.  Off we went to Stride-Rite, where we found nothing similar in his size. Nothing. At. All.  But, when I told the clerk what I was looking for, she immediately said, “Those are going to start in an 8 1/2, and that would just be way too big for him.  I’m so sorry.”  I was disappointed, but I liked her.

By this time we needed some Red Bull and a power bar, but we settled for a milkshake from Chik-fil-A.  It did the trick, and we were on to Dillard’s.  I’m sad to say that we didn’t have a bit of luck.  However, the sales people were very nice.  I’m sure they felt sorry for me, because I was looking awfully worn out by this time.

We called it a day, and headed home.  We were just exhausted.  Think of everything we’d both done by 5:30 this afternoon!  It was enough to make you want to close your eyes and fall asleep about 30 seconds before turning into the driveway.

Thank goodness it was him and not me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lora Lynn
    Oct 19, 2008 @ 11:13:27

    Well, you already know how I feel about shoe shopping. But I am very impressed with your energy and productivity. Sweet little boy there sleeping.

    Reply

  2. Ginny
    Oct 19, 2008 @ 23:11:00

    Ok, like, can I tell you I HATE shoe shopping with my girls to this day!! And…we had to finally break down and get some new Sunday shoes. It actually was easier than I thought; both girls had huge gaps by their heels, but they EACH said they felt “wonderful!” I guess they like the flopping of a shoe on their heels, but I’m to the point, it doesn’t matter to me as long as they wear them! Bless you, my friend, you must have had an overload of energy the other day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

