These People Can SING, Y’all!

For the last six weeks or so I’ve been listening to the same two CDs over and over and I haven’t gotten tired of either of them.  I have to tell you.  That’s some sort of record for me.  About the only thing that I don’t love about my nerdy ol’ station wagon is that when we bought it (five years ago), it didn’t come with a high-filootin’ six-CD changer.  It came with a regular old one-at-a-time CD player.  Therefore, because I am lazy, I tend to listen to the same CD until I just can’t stand it anymore and am forced to change it.  MYSELF. Oh, life is tough, isn’t it?  

Not only do I not mind changing these new CDs, I look forward to switching them back and forth.  I don’t even try to pass it off as my exercise for the day.  The music is THAT good.  I feel moved to write about the artists, set you up with their website, and encourage you to check them out.  Seriously, y’all.  I branched out and put them on iTunes and am listening to them now.  You know I don’t often branch out with the technology.  I didn’t fool with iTunes very much before these folks.  AND, I might even learn to use my sweet little iPod Shuffle just so I can always have these songs handy.  Can you SEE the impact they’ve made on my life already?

The artists I’m raving about are Kevin and Bethany Paige, and they’re right here in Memphis.  Not only are they super-talented, but they’re local folks, and that makes them even more fun to rave about.  They can and do sing just about any kind of music — contemporary Christian, pop, rock, country, you name it and they can sing it.  In addition to entertaining their local fan base and tons of tourists at Alfred’s on Beale Street every weekend, they lead the worship music at a large church in town every Sunday, so they’re known for their musical versatility around here.  I have a sneaking suspicion that while Tater Daddy, Tater Tot and I are searching for a new church, we’ll visit the one they serve each Sunday.  I don’t really know how we can stay away.

Now, I don’t know them personally, but two of the girls I taught with are friends with Bethany.  She and Kevin sang when my friend, Melissa, married a couple of years ago.  They sang, among others, The Prayer, and I am not kidding when I tell you that it was so powerful that I think my husband had some sort of religious experience.  

The first CD I bought is Faith, Hope, Love, Passion.  I love it.  It’s in my CD player right now, and one of the songs on it is called All About You.  It’s really upbeat, and Tater Tot loves it!  In fact, y’all, he hollers for it.  He screams, “IT’S YOU, JESUS!  MA-MAAAA!!!!”  We listen to it over and over, and he totally rocks out to it, grinning and singing the whole time.  Cute?  Oh, yes, indeed he is!  What’s not cute about a two-year-old begging to sing a praise song?   A couple of other songs on this CD that I think you’ll love are Every Season and Untitled Hymn.  There’s also a song called I Bring It To You that Bethany sings, and let me tell you what.  That girl can flat out sing.  My friend, Melissa, posted this video on her Facebook page a few weeks ago and that’s what eventually led to my buying the two CDs.  This is one version of a song called I Bring It To You.  This one is more secular, while the one on the CD is more spiritual.  Hang on to your hats, friends.

The other CD I bought is This Much Love, and the title track nearly brought me to my knees the first time I heard it, and the only reason that it didn’t is because I was driving.  I had a lump in my throat the first few times I listened to it, and I hope to hear Bethany sing it live one of these days.  I’m also wild about Someone To Be Strong For, Lift It Up, and Sing Your Praise.  (To see a video of Someone To Be Strong For, you can go to http://www.youtube.com and search Bethany Paige videos.  It’s good, y’all!)

My friends, I wish I had a giveaway to offer, but I am not all that and a bag of chips.  Plus, I have no idea how those giveaway thing-a-majigs work.  Perhaps one day I’ll figure it out and/or work up the nerve to ask someone for something to give away or do whatever it is that you do to get one going.  If you happen to know how it works, feel free to let me know and I’ll try to stop being such a dork about it all.

But for now, I’m just passing on the information.  It’s definitely worth your time to check them out, and if you decide to purchase a CD, I know you won’t regret it.  Listening to them lifts my spirits every day.  Plus, I like to pretend that I can sing like Bethany.  Oh, would that I could….

If you’d like to visit their website, simply click on these words.

Enjoy!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. noble pig
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:23:44

    Thanks for the recs, I always need something new to listen to!

    Reply

  2. Upside Brown
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:26:24

    oh… you KNOW i love my praise music and i love my itunes! I went and downloaded her music… LOVE it. You’ve been holding out on me, girl!

    Reply

  3. kim sue
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 17:30:23

    probably shouldn’t admit that I have only seen them downtown where I had a mighty fine time dancing like it was my job :o) while giving all those youngsters (that looked 12) something to laugh about!

    Reply

  4. calista
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:42:23

    Saw him YEARS.AGO. when he was still playing the rooftop party at the Peabody, that was a lifetime ago. Thankfully!

    Reply

  5. calista
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 21:43:53

    Yes, that was a typo, someday I will read before I hit post…THANKFULY!

    Reply

  6. Melissa Salazar
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 18:25:51

    Awwww…I’m so excited that I got a “shout-out” on your blog! I am so glad you are enjoying the Paiges! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one addicted to their music! You MUST come to church with me one Sunday and see them in person! I will even come pick you up and treat you to lunch!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

