Please Pass the Bubble Wrap

Late yesterday afternoon Tater Tot and I went outside to play for a little while.  It was a glorious day.  Picture perfect.  The leaves are finally starting to change colors around here, the sky is almost always the most dazzling blue, and everything just screams, “Come outside, y’all!”  It even feels good.  I think yesterday’s high was around 71 degrees with the tiniest hint of a breeze.  (For those of you still sweating temperatures in the upper 80s and 90s, I’ll go ahead and slap myself.)

Anyway, while we were outside kicking a ball around, it happened.  He was trying to make the ball stop and, well, you know, he’s two.  So it’s not like his mind and his little legs and feet are at all in sync.  There was a total miscommunication there, and before I could get to him, well, Tater Tot fell right on his sweet little face.  He’s now sporting  his first real, honest-to-goodness, break-out-the-Neosporin, it-looks-like-it-hurts BOO-BOO.  

Bless his heart.  He tried to break his fall, but down he went anyway.  He cried.  He even sniffled, “Maaamaaa,” in there several times.  I waited until I had him all cleaned up, thoroughly coated with Neosporin, and back outside playing with his Daddy before I went into the bathroom and sobbed until I was nearly sick. I didn’t really see that one coming, especially since there was no blood to speak of; just a good ol’ scrape across the face.  

All of a sudden it hit me like a ton of bricks, though.  WHAT IF?  What if he’d fallen and broken his little nose?  (Can you break your nose at two years old?  I don’t know.)  What if he’d fallen on a twig or a stick and put his eye out?   What if he’d tried to break his fall and ended up with a broken arm or TWO?

With his ever-growing independence, I’m not going to able to prevent every bump, bruise, and scrape no matter how hard I try.  And it scares the wits out of me.

It made me think of the commercial where the two kids are going out for a ride on their bikes and their mom has wrapped them in bubble wrap.  

After today, I don’t think that’s such a bad idea.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 12:21:47

    I remember when my son did something very much like that – about the same age too. He tried to stop himself but his hands kinda stayed at his stomach so he actually looked like a see-saw and he ended up scraping his face just like that. It was terrible.

    Reply

  2. Lora Lynn
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 13:40:51

    I know what you mean. During the day, I soothe the cuts and save them from certain death, but at night when I am trying to sleep, I relive everything and think about what might have been. Then I get all worked up and can’t sleep. It’s tough to be the mommy. Oh, and you need Arnica gel. Takes a bruise right down, relieves swelling, great stuff for boys.

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 18:29:52

    Poor Bo! And Poor Mommy!

    Reply

  4. Ginny
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 19:40:20

    Oh, poor Bo! But…he’s still a cutie! Give him a kiss for me on that booboo. Sorry, Mommy, for your sad day!!!

    Reply

  5. Calista
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 00:18:46

    poor little thing! It probably hurt you worse than him. If you think that hurt, just wait until another kid hurts his feelings. OH.MY.GOODNESS! You feel like your heart is gonna fall right outta your chest.

    Reply

  6. kim sue
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 06:43:58

    my sweet one is 8 now and exerting all kind of independence and so I get “awe, mom” when I say “that’s probably not a good idea” so I find myself frequently holding my breathe until her sweet little feet are firmly back on the ground!

    Reply

  7. Naturally Caffeinated Family
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 12:13:47

    I do the same thing!! What if what if what if, and Hubby just looks at me and laughs! He says how many times he almost really got hurt and say, that is not helping! haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

