October 22

It’s hard to believe, but my husband and I were married 14 years ago today.  What’s even harder to believe is that we’re still married.  Because if I had to wake up every day and deal with all of my craziness, I would have been out of here by about day 12.  Believe me, I’ve tried to run away from myself but have had very little success.

Tater Daddy and I married in the same church where my parents and grandparents married, so it meant a great deal to me to walk down that aisle and carry on the tradition, especially since my grandmother was still alive and there to celebrate with us.  My husband always says that it was particularly meaningful for him  to be able to marry in his home church, too, since so many grooms have no say-so in where the wedding takes place.

At four o’clock on October 22, 1994 in the sanctuary of our town’s First United Methodist Church, Tater Daddy and I said our I dos.  I thought about doing something cutsie or sweet, like “Fourteen Things for Tater Daddy to Read,” but I am pretty sure he doesn’t read my blog, so, you know, that would be a total waste.  So I thought I’d tell you 14 things about him that I really like.  You might even say that I LURVE these things about him.

  1. He adores and is adored by Tater Tot.  I’ve never known a man to be so grateful for his son.  Seeing the two of them together, seeing how they look at each other is a beautiful thing.
  2. He has a wicked, wicked sense of humor, and he’s not afraid to use it.  (But he’s not mean with it, so it’s not like he’d hurt anyone’s feelings.  He’s just funny.  And once he’s on a roll, you may as well just stand back and let him come on through.)
  3. He has a strange love of all things teen-soap-opera.  For instance, he’s all about The O.C and One Tree Hill these days.  He DVRs them and watches them at night, claiming that since they are full of nothing, they help him clear his mind from busy days.  I really don’t get it because the shows claw at my one remaining nerve, but he is a hoot when he watches them.
  4. He secretly wants to try out for Big Brother.  You go get ’em, Tater Daddy.
  5. He’s able to see “the big picture” in almost any circumstance.  Very helpful.
  6. He has the best legs of any man on the planet.  Bar none.  He even won a contest once.  So, there you go.
  7. He can build stuff.  He built our kitchen island after we saw a similar one in an antique store for something ridiculous like $3200.  I said, “Honey, I just betcha YOU can make one like that for us.”  And he did.  Plus, he did most of our kitchen renovation himself, and he made our kitchen counter tops.  I’m telling you.  He’s handy.  (Of course, we all but divorced over that stinkin’ island…. We love it, but we laughingly  call it the divorce table.  I’ll have to tell you about it sometime.)
  8. He’s not afraid to try to do something or fix something himself.  His attitude is, “What’s it going to hurt to try?”   He ain’t skeerd.
  9. He likes to sleep late and hates to wake up early.  I loved this about him (before Tater Tot was born) because I never felt guilty about sleeping in on the weekends!
  10. When you go in vacation with him, he will actually relax.  Going to the beach?  He’ll take as many books as you, plop himself in a lounge chair, and read all day long.  He does NOT have to be entertained and knows that the purpose of a vacation is to relax.
  11. He’ll stop as many times as you need to when traveling.  This is partly because he drinks diet Cokes constantly, so he understands….  But mainly, he’s considerate.
  12. He’s good to my family and genuinely loves them.
  13. He loves the South.  
  14. For whatever reason, he hasn’t given up on me and the big ol’ mess that I am.

I’d post a picture, but in order to do it, I’d have to get the album down from atop the TV cabinet and scan the photos.  I’m pretty sure I can’t do it without waking up the Hubs.  Please notice that I did not include, “He is so sweet and loving when awakened from a deep slumber,” in the above list.  Perhaps another time.

In case you get a wild hair and DO read the blog today, Tater Daddy, Happy Anniversary!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lora Lynn
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 09:58:38

    happy anniversary!

    Reply

  2. Calista
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 12:03:43

    Happy Anniversary. Sounds like a keeper!

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 16:44:02

    Happy 14th anniversary! If he doesn’t read this on his own, I think you should print it off and give it to him! It sure would beat a sappy Hallmark card.

    Reply

  4. Judy
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 18:00:28

    Happy Anniversary! We just celebrated one this weekend too!

    Reply

  5. Ginny
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 21:11:58

    He better read AND appreciate that list!!! That was so sweet of you. (BOY, I STILL cannot believe it’s been 14 years…)
    Congratulations.

    Reply

  6. thefarmerfiles
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 23:41:31

    Happy Anniversary…how important that a man knows how to be good to the inlaws because he loves his wife!

    BTW about the turtle, I am going to post more about him tomorrow, hopefully!!! He is ok!!!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: You Must Respect the Ocean…And One-Piece Bathing Suits « Tater Tales

Leave a Reply

