Are You Comfy, Your Highness?

I rarely sleep all the way through the night.  Maybe it’s because I’m super-sensitive and am always ready to leap into Tater Tot’s room should he make the slightest whimper.  I totally would do that!  But, who am I kidding?  It’s the 53 liters of diet coke I drink every day that consistently keeps me walking the halls at night.

The other night during one of my walk-arounds I decided to let the dogs out.  Hatch and Pearl were with me as we went into the den, and when we got there, here’s what we saw.

That would be Duke, the one we call The Bouncer because he “faithfully” stands guard at the front door.  He barks at things that move and things that don’t….bless it.  After we turn out the lights, he rarely leaves the front of the house.  I’ve written about this before.  He has always slept on the floor near the door.

I guess someone figures he’s put the word out in no uncertain terms:  Don’t Mess With This Address.  (Or 70 pounds of sagging skin and shedding fur will amble over and whack you and gag you until you beg for mercy.  And then the reinforcements come in.)

Now, I’m not really worried that we’re in any real danger because (a) we don’t live in a dangerous  part of town (Y’all know what I mean.  I’m pretty sure our sweet little retired neighbors aren’t running a crack ring.), and (b) Have I mentioned that when a stranger comes to the door, he/she is met by no less than 260 pounds of Labrador Retriever and teeth?

Anyway, Duke is now happiest when atop his makeshift throne.  Can you really blame him?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Upside Brown
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 07:32:21

    He sleeps at the door until, of course, I come for a visit! Then he’s sacked out in the bed with me…faithfully guarding my sleep! What a boyfriend!! Love me some Duke, Duke, Duke of Pearl!

    Reply

  2. Melanie
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 09:57:42

    That’s adorable. Just love these crazy dogs. He probably worked at those pillows quite a bit to get them just right. Funny.

    Reply

  3. Calista
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 13:41:54

    What a cute big guy! Did I ever mention my love of dogs? I wish I could get a new puppy every day!

    Reply

  4. noble pig
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 15:35:40

    Funny. My friends dog does the exact thing, it’s funny how they make themselves their own comfy chair.

    Reply

  5. kim sue
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 16:13:29

    well it does look like a comfy couch…I think I could curl up for a long winter’s nap on it too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

