The Countdown for Ella

About a week ago or so I wrote about my friends in Texas who received the long-awaited call that their adoption went through and that they would be traveling to Ethiopia to pick up their daughter at the end of this month.  Well, the end of the month is almost here, y’all!  In just about a week, they will board a plane and begin what I’m sure will be an amazing journey.

Their blog is Around the World and Two Kids, and it’s definitely worth following.  There’s a link right over there on my blogroll.  If you’re interested, you can read about what they’re doing to prepare for their trip, how excited they are, and if you read back far enough, you’ll learn how they got to this point.  It’s a beautiful story.  Plus, there are tons of pictures of sweet little Ella!

If I could ask a favor of you, it would be to remember this family in your prayers.  Certainly, I’m praying for safety in their travels, but I’m also praying that Ella’s transition from her orphanage caregivers, whom my friends say are wonderful, to her parents is as smooth and natural as possible.  I’m praying that she will recognize their voices and know them from their pictures and that God will instill in her a sense of comfort and peace. I’m praying that she will feel safe and loved and that this family will bond easily. 

I know your prayers would mean so much to my friends as they prepare to be –in seven short days — PARENTS to little Ella!  Let the countdown begin!

For this child I prayed; and the Lord hath given me my petition which I asked of Him.    (1 Samuel 26-28)

 


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thefarmerfiles
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 03:14:44

    Exciting times! Will pray! My friend Patty gets back tomorrow from adopting a little girl from China.

    Reply

  2. Calista
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 00:45:57

    I’ll be praying over here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

