He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Pumpkin

Last Sunday afternoon, the weather was pretty and we needed a fun way for Tater Tot to burn off some energy, so we took him to a Pumpkin Patch not too far from our house.  I would have liked to have gotten some sweet little pictures of him sitting on the decorated hay bales, but he would have none of it.  He wouldn’t even sit with his Daddy, so you know he was seriously distracted by all the “punkins.”

We finally convinced him that it was time to pick one or five, so we found a green cart/wagon and started to load ‘er up.  

Finally, we found the perfect pumpkin and added it to the cart, which – by this time – was being pushed by none other than our own Mr. Universe.  I kept asking him if he could do it or if it was too heavy.  His response?

“No, I do it, Mama.  It’s not too hebby.  It’s not hebby.  It’s NOT hebby, Mama!”

I swear, I still don’t know how he pushed that thing, but he did.  He pushed it all over the place.

He stopped long enough to find this pumpkin and have a little fun.  I really think it was the backboard for a beanbag toss, but what did it hurt to let a two-year-old do this?

We convinced Tater Tot that it was time to take his “punkin” home by promising him a scoop of ice cream.  He was putty in our hands after that.  I wonder how long that trick will last.

We haven’t carved our punkin yet, but will probably do it this Sunday afternoon.  I wonder if bribing Tater Daddy with ice cream will work?

More pictures to follow once our pumpkin turns into a jack-o-lantern.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kim sue
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 08:47:20

    LOVE PUMPKINS! I will be SO sad when Carly doesn’t get excited about walking around and choosing a pumpkin (and letting me take pictures of her doing it)!

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 12:30:34

    So cute…my eldest ended up having a cat scan done…long story…because I heard him say…I do it myself Mommy! Then again, he didn’t have two feet on the ground. 😉

    Reply

  3. Naturally Caffeinated Family
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 17:25:16

    Very cute! I love the progression of it’s not heavy, haaa! I really want to do some family portraits outside but our sweet crazy guy is going to want to run around the whole time! 🙂

    Reply

  4. noble pig
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 13:19:58

    I love pumpkin patch pics, always so colorful and happy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

