In Which I Just Can’t Stay Awake

The sweet-precious-honey-angel-gawr-gawr-gawr  is down the hall sleeping soundly.  

For the moment.  Cross your fingers, cross your fingers, cross your fingers!

I’d like to think he’ll make it the whole night without waking up, but just between you and me, I’m pretty sure that’s not going to happen.  He’s two, and he’s going through some little phase where he thinks he can’t get back to sleep unless I’m in the room.  Last night, he woke up three times crying the most pitiful little, “Mama….?” you’ve ever heard.

Each time I went to check on him, all he wanted was for me to sit in the chair beside his crib.  Within a few minutes he was fast asleep and I was staggering back to my warm bed.  That’s a big improvement from a couple of months ago when he would beg and plead to be taken to “Mama’s bed,” so I’m not complaining at all.  I’ll take it!

But when you link several such nights in a row, the Mama tends to get a little googly-eyed, and not a lot of what comes out of her mouth makes sense, so trying to write a blog post would really just be, um, toothpicks-under-your-fingernails torture for us all.

So if it’s all the same with you, I’m going to post another picture of the sweet little Tater Tot and cross my fingers that you think he’s worth looking at.  Heaven knows I never get tired of doing it, but I might be a little biased.  Just a smidge.

With any luck, I’ll be asleep before midnight and can catch a few winks before I’m needed elsewhere.

Happy Wednesday, friends!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thefarmerfiles
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 06:35:16

    Great shot! Aww i never tire of little boy shots!

    Reply

  2. Mrs Lemon
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 07:38:52

    It’s a phase 🙂

    Reply

  3. Naturally Caffeinated Family
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 12:31:23

    That picture is adorable!!!

    Reply

  4. Nancy
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 22:05:44

    It is a cute picture. I, too, get sooo tired now when I have to get up in the middle of the night! Thank goodness it’s rare with my 3 yo, but I wonder…how did I do it before on so little sleep? God gives new mommies just what they need, I guess!

    Reply

  5. Calista
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 23:16:39

    Girl, my oldest did not sleep all night long until she was 2 1/2 years old. She usually woke up mulitple times a night. Baby #2 slept through the night at two weeks. My guess is she was worn out just from watching the big sister run around and me chasing her……

    Reply

  6. Kim H.
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 16:32:47

    And who wouldn’t melt seeing that face? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

