It’s Worth Buying, But You Can Win It

There’s someone I’ve been the dearest of friends with for a long time now.  We pledged the same sorority at Mississippi State 20 years ago and became fast friends.  We roomed together for a semester when my roommate was selected to be an officer and moved into the sorority house.  When her then-boyfriend and now-husband was ready to propose, I got to be in on setting it up.  We were in each other’s weddings.  We have laughed until we’ve cried and cried until we’ve laughed.  You might even say that, “Laughter through tears is our favorite emotion….”  (We’ve watched Steel Magnolias enough times that we can practically have a conversation using nothing but quotes from the movie.  You might think that one is a little odd, but for my friend and me, that’s just the way it is.)

I could not be more delighted with and proud of my friend simply for being the person she is.  Life has thrown her more than a fair share of curve balls, yet she manages to knock each one out of the park.  Every time.

Several years ago, it just so happened that we were both struggling with the heartaches that come with infertility.  Our struggles and outcomes, though, were vastly different.

She’s written about her experience in her first book, To Walk on Fertile Ground.   

If you’ve struggled at all with infertility, you’ll relate to much of what she’s been through.  If you’ve ever lost a child during pregnancy, you’ll relate to what she’s suffered through.  If you’ve ever been told that you have cancer, you’ll relate to even more of what she’s lived through.

Even if you haven’t known any of the same struggles, you’ve surely struggled with something.  Every one of us faces obstacles in our life, and sometimes we face several all at once.  Would any of us choose these obstacles?  These heartaches?  Of course not.  

When I read my friend’s book, I realized that her message applies to everyone.  Not just to people who have walked or are walking the same road she’s traveled.  Her message speaks to everyone.   With honesty and eloquence, she helps us see that it’s okay — no, it’s good and right — to accept the path that our Father has set before us.  Even when it’s hard.  Even when it’s not at all the path we would have chosen for ourselves.

We can wallow in our self-pity and let it ruin and run our lives.  Or we can “put our hand in the hand of the man who stills the water,” as the old song goes.  We can say, “Okay, Lord.  I thought I’d be living my life a lot differently than it’s turning out, but you must want to show me something else.  I’m in.  I’m yours.  I will walk with faith, Lord.  I will walk on the fertile ground that you’ve set before me, and I will take part fully in this life you’ve given me.”

Please stop by my friend’s blog, To Walk on Fertile Ground, and leave her a comment.  You might win a copy of her book, as she’s giving away three autographed copies in her very first giveaway.  You’ll certainly get to know her a little bit.  I bet you’ll come to love her!

You might even love her more than your luggage…….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kim H.
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 16:31:06

    There are so many things about this post that I love… the emotion of true friendship… the possibility of winning a book that I desperately need… and Steel Magnolia references!

    I don’t know which of you I found first – or even how it happened, but I am soooo thankful to have found this blog and Kristi’s.

    You both have welcomed me into your worlds with open arms, and love that is rare… but I am so grateful for you both!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

