The Ghosts of Halloweens Past

This is the third Halloween for our little Tater Tot, and this year he will be Thomas the Tank Engine. He is ALL kinds of crazy about Thomas and the other little train friends, so to dress up as the main one delights him to no end.  You know me.  I’ll have pictures up sometime this weekend.

I thought I’d share pictures from the last two Halloweens.  The first year, when Tater Tot was only 3 months old, we paraded him around in this little cow costume.  It’s still my favorite.  Of course, it’s hard to take pictures that really show off the costume when your little spook is this age.

And then last year, at the last minute, I decided that our little one would make the perfect puppy. (Because, you know, we don’t have enough real ones in our house…)  After Tater Tot and I made the rounds at Tater Daddy’s office — his whole department goes all out and hosts trick-or-treating for the families — the little pup and I got in the car and headed to my parents’ house.  Since it’s an hour away and we’d had a full afternoon anyway, they didn’t think we were coming to see them.  Silly grandparents….  But I let them think it.  Why spoil a perfectly good surprise?  I talked to my Mama for most of the drive there and hung up as I pulled into the driveway.  Then we scooted around to the back door and knocked.  It was one of the few times that I’ve been able to truly surprise them.  

This is a picture of my Daddy, whom Tater Tot called Papa, handing him a balloon.  (Sorry you can’t see the balloon, but would you really pay that much attention to it if you could?!)  It was this day last year when my parents met with the folks from hospice care for the first time, and the nurse brought the balloon.  It had been a hard day, so being surprised with a visit from their only grandson was a real treat.

Once we’d worn out the grandparents and chased that balloon all over the place, Tater Tot and I headed home, where he continued to pose for the camera.

Come to think of it, I probably should have dressed him as a ham…..

Happy Halloween, everyone!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. upsidebrown
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 06:46:17

    Oh my word! I haven’t seen these pictures before! I could eat him with a spoon!! So precious! Hugs to Tater Tot and Tater Dogs for me!

    Reply

  2. Kelley
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 13:00:17

    Thanks for stopping by my blog yesterday!

    Seriously, your comment CRACKED. ME. UP. From the frying bacon and Paula Deen’s butter, to how funny Boo Mama is in person, it was the best comment ever!

    : )

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 15:48:20

    Mahalo for sharing the pics of your dad. Great you had your camera that day!

    Reply

  4. Kim H.
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 16:25:16

    Cow, puppy or Thomas… he’s adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

