A Blessed Day, Indeed

Please forgive me if this post reads a little more unorganized than usual.  I’d like to blame it the fact that it’s 1 a.m. and we had a very full day and night with Tater Tot and Halloween and all.  But the fact is that I am weeping as I write this, and it’s kind of hard to keep it all together.

I was about to turn off the lights and call it a night when I decided to check my Google Reader account one last time.  And there it was.  A post from my friends who are adopting their daughter from Ethiopia.

They left Thursday morning and arrived safely in Addis Ababa Friday night.  They’re now in a time zone that is about 8 hours ahead…

And as I sit here typing these words, my friends are meeting their daughter, Ella, for the very first time.

After all these months of waiting.  After all the setbacks.  After knowing her through pictures and reports, they are in the same room with their precious little girl.

This is a blessed day, indeed.

I will praise  you, O Lord, among the nations; I will sing of you among the peoples.  (Psalm 108:3)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 07:43:05

    Ahh, I rejoice with you. Praise the Name of Jesus for answered prayer!

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 16:22:34

    This strikes such a cord with me – I met my little brother and sister in a situation just like this one a few years ago… (I’m 25 years older than my brother and 26 years older than my sister)

    I was given the priviledge of going with my step-mother to Guatemala to pick up my little brother… I got to meet my sister on that trip, but she came home a few months later. It was such an amazing trip, and a gift that I’ll never truly understand.

    I can only imagine what your friends are/were feeling on this day… praise God!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

