Just Some Monday Random Stuff

Oh, good morning afternoon evening, bloggyland friends, and a Happy Monday and almost Tuesday at that!  It was a mighty full weekend for the Taters, and I bucked my routine last night and went to bed before 2 a.m.  Oh, I was up twice with the Tater Tot, who has decided that no night is complete without at least one or three hollering fits.  I’m sure that this, too, shall pass, but not before the bloodshot look that his Mama now sports is permanent.

But since I called it a night before writing anything for the blawg, I thought I’d indulge in a little more randomness than usual.

1.  This one is at the top of my list because it’s been bothering me for several months and I don’t know how to remedy it.  Someone out there might be able to help.  Unlike the hair on the top of my head, my eyelashes are now exerting all kinds of stubbornness and are refusing to curl.  If they continue in their new-found independence, they will most likely grow right straight down, thus causing me to see the world through vertical blinds.  I imagine that might be somewhat annoying.  To top it all off, the right set is worse than the left set, which actually makes sense in the weird world of me, as the left “side” of my head has always spawned curlier hair than the right.

I know.  I am one freakin’ case study waiting to happen when it comes to hair woes.  And now you can throw my eyelashes into the mix.  Does anyone have any solutions to getting stubborn eyelashes to curl?  Anyone?  Anyone?

2.  Let me preface this one by saying that I am grateful for the right to vote; so grateful, in fact, that I’ve already done it.  It took two-and-a-half-freaking hours of standing in line, but I’ve done it. Having said that, are you ready for this election to be OVER?  Am I the only one who feels like the campaigning for this election has been going on for nine years?

3.  We visited a new church yesterday.  I could’ve joined on the spot.  ON. THE. SPOT, y’all.  And that’s saying something, because it was a Presbyterian church and I am Methodist to the bone.  I didn’t even go into withdrawals when we didn’t sing The Doxology after the offering.  It’s a wonderful church, and if they throw potluck suppers with tables of casseroles made with Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom and/or Cream of Chicken soups, well, please forgive me, Charles Wesley.  I may just cross over…..

4.  If you want to start your week off with a true blessing, PLEASE go to Around the World and 2 Kids and read their post from yesterday (Sunday).  I can’t remember when I’ve wept with such joy and thanksgiving.  I realize that a great deal of it is because I know David and Amy, but if you read about their experience at church in Ethiopia Sunday, I believe that you will carry an extra smile with you.

5.  The AT&T repairman just left our home because our phone has been on the blink.  Callers were getting a fast busy signal.  We were hearing the phone ring, but when we answered all we got was a dead line.  The caller ID somehow managed to disable itself in the process, so we couldn’t call people back and explain, so, um, frustrating?  Just a smidge.

I really wanted to blame the problem on that nasty little mouse, Eddie, from a couple of months back. Oh, Eddie is long gone, thanks to a second visit by the exterminator and some peanut-butter-coated poison.  But I wanted to think that Eddie somehow gnawed through one of the phone wires in a last-ditch attempt to cause some irritation and inconvenience from the great beyond.

It turns out that I can’t blame this one on a dead mouse.  It appears that a great big dust bunny is to blame.  In other words, Tater Mama’s vacuuming isn’t as, er, thorough as it should be.  Evidently this big old dust bunny walked over to one of the floor phone jacks and made itself nice and comfortable.  Because I managed to suck up a sock while vacuuming with the Oreck and haven’t dropped it off at the store for repairs, I’ve been using our other vacuum, the Dyson.  I love it, but it doesn’t lie down flat, so I’ve kind of slacked off on getting up under the furniture where the dust bunnies and all kind of other critters hide.  Remember.  I don NOT have the OCD, so if the vacuum cleaner does not lie down flat to get under the furniture, I do not lie down flat to get under the furniture….  But I might start, lest we lose our ability to communicate with the outside world.

5.  This time-change thing is just wearing me out.  I know.  You’d think the “extra hour” of sleep this weekend would’ve been nice, and usually you’d be right.  But it has caused all kinds of confusion with a certain two-year-old who apparently liked things the way they were.  He’s still waking up at his “normal” time MINUS a half hour.  What’s up with THAT?  That’s 6:30 in the ohmystinkin’wordareyoukiddingme?  (Have I mentioned that I am NOT a morning person and that left to my own devices I might roll out of bed around 11:00?)  So, yeah, I’m off my game just a little more than normal!

Heck.  I’ve been working on this post since 8:30 this morning, and it’s 4:45 p.m.

And that’s all the randomness for now.

Later, y’all!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs Lemon
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 21:23:42

    Yeah, Zesty woke up an hour early on Sunday morning too. On top of Splenda and her galpal who spent most of Saturday night howling with laughter.

    Reply

  2. Calista
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 13:06:31

    My eyelashes haven’t curled since I was 18, and since I had babies, they started falling out. I figured it was God’s way of helping me get ready faster…..

    Reply

  3. Kim H.
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 15:33:59

    Oh my goodness – I’ve laughed out loud at several of these! My sister had her own “Eddie” a while back but it was an opossum (sp?)! I couldn’t possibly do the story justice – but wow… so stinking funny.

    I can tell that I’m going to be VERY entertained keeping up with you guys… although I sort of knew it just by reading the story of how your blog got its name. Sounds so much like something that would have happened if I’d asked for input from my husband. 🙂

    Thank goodness for Google Reader – because I don’t want to miss a second of Tater Tales!

    Reply

  4. Dorkys
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 16:36:13

    Hahaha great list you got going. And mice are the worst. If they’re not alive chewing you out of house and home then they’re rotting away somewhere scaring away any and all visitors.

    When will the smell going away??!

    Reply

  5. Kelley
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 18:53:06

    Are you a hoot or what?

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and lovin’ it so much you’ve bookmarked it. Uh oh….now I have to be on extra good behavior. ha ha ha ha : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

