Is He a Performing Seal Or a Master of the Martial Arts?

As I was putting Tater Tot to bed Saturday night he let out a cough that sounded much like he was auditioning for a spot in the Seal Show at the Memphis Zoo.  Yes, the little man has a mild case of croup.  We didn’t have to spend any time in a steamy bathroom or anything, thank goodness, but I did sleep snuggled up with him.

Well.  Let me clarify that.  I did that half-sleep thing that you do when you have a child with croup. Tater Tot barked every now and then, and about every couple of hours, one or more of the dogs wandered in to check on us.  Translation:  Duke, Pearl, or Hatchie took shifts sleeping on the foot of the bed.  It didn’t wake up the little one, but it kept me from shifting into a more comfortable position.  Oh, I wish those dogs had stayed away and let me shift a little bit.

At some point in the night, Tater Tot must have had a dream in which everyone was Kung-Fu fighting (sing it with me now…) because I was stirred from my twilight-stupor with several fast kicks to my stomach and lower abdomen.  I’m fairly certain that my ovaries and other girlie parts are now wrapped around my kidneys and tied in a nice little bow, thanks to the fancy nighttime footwork of one barking two-year-old.

For his next trick, I’d just as soon he try balancing a red ball on his nose.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kim sue
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 07:18:59

    hope last nights slumber was better than the night before and that the barking seal show had a long intermission.

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 09:34:48

    Oh my gosh – poor little guy… I feel for you, but am laughing at the same time!

    Reply

  3. Kelley
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 10:36:45

    Oh my! Hope the little guy feels better!

    Reply

  4. thefarmerfiles
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 12:20:51

    Or maybe he could lay down and play dead so everyone could get some sleep. 😉

    Reply

  5. Calista
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 23:58:26

    Hope the little guy is doing better. Orapred maybe??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

