Here and There and Some Other Stuff

Happy Tuesday afternoon, everybody!  Brrrrr!  By Memphis standards, folksies, it’s cold, with the temperature holding at a nice 51 degrees and no trace of the sun anywhere.  In fact, I think it might rain a little.  Thank goodness for all those good recipes from Boo Mama’s recent Souptacular/Crockpotalooza because this weather is just screaming for them.  The crock pot is crockin’ as I type, thanks to an awfully good-sounding (and smelling, I might add) enchilada soup recipe we’ll be trying later on tonight.

There are some things wandering across my mind, and since the little fellow is taking a nap I thought I’d use this time to share them with you rather than vacuum and fold laundry load number 28. (There are only three of us in this house.  How do we dirty up so many clothes?  It’s a mystery.)

1.  My friends are still in Ethiopia, but will return this weekend with their daughter Ella.  They’ve managed to post regularly on their blog, and it has been a blessing to read.  If you haven’t linked over, I think you’d really enjoy it.  The rep from the adoption agency (at least I’m guessing that’s who’s writing it) who is traveling with them has also kept a blog, and you can get her perspective from her blog.  I just started reading it today, and I’ve enjoyed it so much.

By the way, this is David’s birthday.  Isn’t it a wonderful way for him to spend it?  With his wife and new daughter, preparing to come back to America and introduce her to many of the people who have been praying for her for months…even years.  Happy Birthday, my friend!  I have a feeling this is your happiest one yet.

2.  Are y’all reading Noble Pig’s blog?  If you’re not, then you ought to check her out.  If you read it first thing in the morning, she’ll give you a great idea of what to have for supper.  Everything she makes looks dee-lish-us!  Plus, she not only tells you how to make it, she shows you the ingredients.  I find this very helpful.  You’ll also get to see pictures and hear about how her family is starting their own vineyard. That’s pretty cool!

3.  Every fall I trek on over to Bath and Body Works and buy one of these.  Now that there’s a two-year-old roaming around, I’ve had to get creative about where I plug it in, but I adore the way it makes our house smell oh-so-yummy and not so there-are-four-dogs-living-here.  I’ll take all the help I can get.  I like this one because it’s not overwhelming, and my husband likes the smell of cinnamon, so I don’t ever hear, “What in the world is that froo-froo smell.”  Of course, he knows better than to open up the conversation category of smells……

4.  My oldest and closest friend’s mother just returned from a trip to Gatlinburg with some friends. While they were there they took several day-trips and one of them was to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, North Carolina.  I’ve never been and it’s on my list of places to go within the next couple of years.  Wouldn’t you just love to see it during the holidays?  Talk about a way to get into the Christmas spirit!

Any-ol-hoo, “Miss” Cynthia (’cause in the South, every female is Miss Whomever, whether she’s married or not) has just recovered from having broken both feet.  I KNOW!  O-U-C-H!  She spent the entire summer unable to do anything, having had surgery on one foot and coming this close to having to have surgery on the other.  Can you imagine?  Not only that, but about three years ago, she had both knees replaced.  At age I’m-not-going-to-tell-you, she is one of my personal heroes.  I hope that, if the Lord lets me live to be her ripe young age, I’ll be in good health and just as active.

And I also hope I’ll get to the Biltmore before then.  

Until that time, though, I’m going to enjoy some enchilada soup!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Meg @ SpicyMagnolia
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 15:51:25

    The Biltmore is beautiful and such a fun place to visit! Me and the hubby went last summer, and Christmas would be such a gorgeous time to visit! You’ll enjoy it greatly; Asheville itself is a really nice getaway.

    We know a dear couple who is in the process of adopting from Ethiopia as well. They’re waiting to hear when they can go pick up their little boy. How exciting for your friends that they’re coming home soon with Ella!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

