Chest Pains

When my husband got home tonight he made a funny noise and an even funnier face, so I lovingly asked, “What’s up with you, Tater Daddy?” and he said, “Just a little chest pain.”

Oh, well, as long as it’s nothing for a  42-year-old smoker (let’s all say it together, “Ewwwwwww! Yuck!) with high cholesterol to be concerned about…..

Even though his coloring was fine and he had no numbness in his left arm, and he said that the pain was going away with every hug from Tater Tot, I was turning as white as a sheet and feeling numb all over, so he agreed to go to the hospital.  Armed with a book he’s been hoping to have a chance to read, he poured himself a massive diet coke and gave us the peace sign.  Because he’s hip like that.

About an hour later he called and said that the very nice people in the ER had performed an EKG, which looked fine, but that because of his age (yes, we’ve reached THAT bracket) they’d drawn blood to check the enzymes for signs of a heart attack.  They estimated that it would take six hours to get the results back.

Six hours.  I’m guessing they’re sending his blood to Nashville and back for the tests.  Or his blood has to be carried drop by drop up the stairs to the lab.  Or maybe it has to sit in its new environment for a few hours before being tested in order to avoid having test anxiety.  I don’t know.

What I do know is that my husband is sitting across town in an emergency room where he can’t get a good cell phone signal.  Either that, or that’s what he’s telling me so that I won’t call him every 23 seconds and interrupt his good book.

Meanwhile, back at the House-o-Tater, I have yet to fully exhale, and I’m thinking seriously about throwing up.  However, that ranks pretty high on my list of things I try to avoid doing, so I’m trying to be strong.

I’m not going to lie, though.  This is frightening.  Even though it will probably turn out to be that he ate something too spicy or drank one or nine too many diet cokes, there’s still that slight chance…. Let’s face it.  He smokes.  (Not that it matters to his health, but he doesn’t smoke in the house or anywhere near Tater Tot.)  He has a true addiction, and he’s tried umpteen times to quit, God bless him.  His cholesterol?  Without medication the man would be a solid.  And to say that his job is a wee bit stressful would be like saying that Dolly Parton is kinda top-heavy.  Plus, he lives with a crazy woman who spends her days blogging and sharpening her mental skills by talking to a two-year-old and four dogs.

As of now, he’s been there for five hours.  I’m sure his back, which is in worse shape than an 80-year-old’s, is aching; he’s got to be starving; and with the speed in which he reads, he’s surely finished his book.  I’ll bet he’s been reduced to looking at the Highlights magazines and finding all the hidden objects in the pictures, unless he’s sweet-talked the nurses into answering questions like, “Hey, what’s the grossest thing you’ve ever seen while working in the ER?”  He would totally ask that.  Nerd.

But he’s my nerd and I am staring out the front windows, waiting to see his Jeep pull into the driveway.

 When that happens, my chest pains can go away.

************************************************************

(It’s 12:20 a.m. and he’s home.  No heart attack, no blood clots.  The pain is likely stress-related and he’ll go for a stress test in the next few days.  He’s exhausted and has headed to bed.  I’ve finally exhaled and am getting ready to shut the house down for the night.  My prayers tonight will be brief but heartfelt.  Thank you, Father.  Thank you.)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thefarmerfiles
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 05:17:43

    Whew! Glad he is ok!

    Reply

  2. Lora Lynn
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 10:22:27

    Glad that all is well. I think you all deserve a day off today!

    Reply

  3. Calista
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 10:51:11

    Glad he is back. We have BOTH been through this at my house. It is very alarming…… Get some rest.

    Reply

  4. Kim H.
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 11:27:07

    What a crazy ordeal – I’m glad it turned out to be minor… but I would have been a mess too!

    Reply

  5. Melanie
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 12:04:06

    Before I got down to the very bottom, I was thinking I sure do hope there’s an update. Praise God for a good report. I hope you all slept well. I’m thinking you probably did.

    Reply

  6. Kelley
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 15:08:38

    Oh my! I don’t doubt how scary that was!! PTL that all is OK.

    Here is something to think about…I’m not a Dr. but my friend and I both had similar symptoms and it turned out to be costochondritis. This is an inflamation of the cartilage in your ribcage. It comes and goes and is actually pretty common.

    Sending a little prayer your way. : )

    Reply

  7. Jamie
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 23:40:14

    Whew, I’m glad he’s OK. Good thing he went in — always better to err on the side of caution.

    Thank you Father, indeed! Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

