Daddy’s Blessing

This will be the first Thanksgiving without my father.  While I hate to even think about it, I’ve been trying to prepare myself for it because he would hate for any of us to be miserable.  He would understand our sadness.  He would understand our missing him.  But it would break his heart for us not to be able to enjoy the day.

So I’m doing my best to get ready for this first holiday season without my Daddy.

Last year he didn’t come to the table.  He ate in the den in his chair where it was more comfortable for him. So rather than standing in the dining room for the blessing, we stood in the den so that he could still give it.  Tradition, you know.

It’s also kind of a running joke in our family, because Daddy gave the fastest blessing in the history of blessings.  He also spoke softly, so if you wanted to hear what was being said, you had to really concentrate.  When my mother’s father was alive, he always laughed and said, “What did he say?” every single time.

Some people called it a “whiplash” blessing, because no sooner had you bowed your head than you were raising it back up.

It was simple.

Lord, thank you for the food that you so kindly give.

Let us show our thanks in the way we talk and live.

How I am going to miss hearing it and the man who spoke those words this year.  But I will also give thanks for that man, who was one of the greatest blessings in my life.

thanksgiving-07

That’s Papa and Tater Tot last Thanksgiving. Those two were really something together. I am beyond thankful that my Daddy lived long enough to enjoy his grandson; to love him and be loved by him.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tatersmama
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 17:06:46

    I know the feeling, darlin’. I really do. This is my first Thanksgiving without my dad… and it’s going to be hard.

    But we can still give “thanks” that we had them in our lives, and that’s a good thing.

    *hugs*
    Tatersmama

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 20:10:28

    I think that you should still give that prayer this year… what a wonderful way to pay tribute to your Dad. It’s okay to miss him, but also take comfort in remembering all the great Thanksgivings that you spent with him too.

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 02:54:53

    Whiplash prayer…too funny. I will pray for your Thanksgiving tonight before I go to bed.

    Reply

  4. Mary Carol
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 12:17:16

    Tater Mama—–how wonderful that you have great memories of your Dad—-maybe your David can begin the new tradition of delivering your Dad’s blessing.
    There was a whole community who loved and respected your Dad—you have much to be proud and thankful for in having him.
    Love Ya Much

    ****************************
    Oh, hey, Miss Mary Carol! You are so sweet! Thank you so much for those kind words. He was certainly one of the good ones. 🙂 I know y’all are missing that sweet granddaughter and can’t wait until Christmas!! If she isn’t cute, I don’t know what cute IS!

    Reply

  5. Tatersmama
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 14:37:50

    I agree with what Kim H said. Keep that blessing …and every time it’s said, you’re paying tribute to your daddy.

    Reply

  6. boomama
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 16:14:16

    Now that is precious. And one day, the little man will pray that very prayer….

    Reply

  7. calista
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 16:51:32

    We are right there with you girl. We will all miss Tracy’s Dad something terrible this year. I will be praying for peace and happy memories to come to your mind all through this season.

    ***********************
    I’ll be thinking of your family, too. Everyone says that the first year is the hardest. I believe it. I also hope it’s true. Goodness knows, I hope the years to come are easier. Whew.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

