Sunday Randomness

Hello, y’all!  

It’s another cold Sunday and there is all kinds of randomness floating around in this head of mine.

For one thing, I am trying to make homemade chicken noodle soup, courtesy of Robyn at Pensieve, but do you think the water will boil?  Heck, no.  It’s taking its own sweet time over there, and I’m not even watching the pot.  I only look at it occasionally to see if it’s doing its thing.  Which it most definitely isn’t.

On to the real randomness.

  • I have a new blogging friend whose name is similar to mine, so, of course, I think she’s fabulous.  She’s an American gal living in Australia, which sounds awfully fun, too.  Plus, she’s new to the wonderful world of bloggyland, so stop by her place down under and say hello sometime.  She’s known as Tater’s Mama.
  • My friends, David and Amy, have been home for a week with their daughter, Ella, and they’ve settled in quite nicely as a family of three plus Sampson, the dog.  Sweet Ella is beautiful and happy and loved.  In addition to adjusting to being parents of a one-year-old, David and Amy are keeping us posted of how things are going on their blog.  Feel free to stop in and say hello.  
  • Tater Tot’s Grandparents’ Day program was Friday, and it was cute.  His class sang “The ABC Song,”  “The Itsy Bitsy Spider,” and “Saw Saw The Wood.”  Tater Daddy was to video the performance and I was going to take pictures and stand at the ready should the teacher need help if a meltdown or six  occurred.  However, a microphone obstructed Tater Daddy’s view of our little star, so we switched roles.  Guess who forgot to take a single picture?  I got the camera out last night to download the pictures, and finding none, asked why.  He said, “I didn’t have the camera.”  Um, I gave it to you when you handed me the video camera.  “Oh, I guess I didn’t notice.  I’m sorry.”  He really has so many good qualities that it’s not fair to gripe about stuff like this.  Even when I really want to…..
  • The Christmas decorating has begun.  I found this snowman Advent Calendar (or countdown calendar, if your prefer) at TJ Maxx for $12.99 last week.

snowman-calendar

I thought it was cute, and it’ll do the trick.  Tater Tot wants to wear it, so we’re having to explain to him about 97 times a day that it’s not a costume.  The one I would really like to have looks like this.

pbkids-calendar

It’s from Pottery Barn Kids and it costs around $70.  If I were crafty, I’ll just bet that I could probably make it for, what, around $12.99?  Since I’m not at all crafty, and I’m not going to spend $70 for a Christmas decoration, I figure I did alright for the bargain decoration that Tater Tot not only wants to wear, but also hugged last night before he went to bed.

  • Tomorrow’s post is going to be an extra special one because my mother, Poopsie, is the author.  I’m using one of her articles from her days with our hometown’s weekly newspaper.  Among my favorite humorists are Dave Barry, and the late authors Lewis Grizzard and Erma Bombeck.  In my humble opinion, my mother tops them all.  I hope you’ll stop by tomorrow for a Thanksgiving tale.

That’s it for this Sunday.  I’m going to go check on that chicken.  Wish me luck, y’all, or it’s going to be plain old noodle soup for supper.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lora Lynn
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 17:31:58

    I still get the giggles from your mother’s last story. Can’t wait to hear tomorrow’s!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

