Will Tater Daddy Do It Again?

Two years ago, when Tater Tot was about four-and-a-half months old, Tater Daddy volunteered to have the whole department’s Christmas party at our house.  Not just his group’s little get-together.  I’m talking THE WHOLE DEPARTMENT.  Our little 2,100 square-foot home (one a good day), which is crammed corner-to-corner with furniture, ironically not much of which is for sitting upon, was about to host anywhere from 30 to 45 people.

The party was to take place, let’s say, around the 17th of December.  And Tater Daddy sprung this information on me on, oh, let’s say, the 7th.  Up to that point, not a lot of decorating had been done, and there’s a huge difference between normal holiday decorating and 40 People Are Coming In Ten Days decorating.  Needless to say, the Taters got to work.

For years I’ve  made our wreath out of magnolia leaves, and several years ago I saw an article in Southern Living that explained how to make a frame for your front door so that you can use a staple-gun and easily frame your home’s entry in magnolia.  I’ve been after Tater Daddy to make that thing for me for years.  It’s never happened.  Well, all of a sudden, two years ago, he wanted our front door to have more than a wreath, but time was short.  No time to make that frame.  I was happy to decorate and help get things together, but there was also an infant to take care of, so, you know….

Lo and behold, Tater Daddy drove to his Mama’s house, stripped her huge magnolia tree to the point of embarrassment, came home and got to work.  While I puttered around inside, drinking hot chocolate cleaning furiously and working on the tree, this is what my creative better half did.

magnolia-garland-06

I’m hoping he’ll do it again this year.  It’s so festive and happy.  

And I really don’t want to make a wreath.

What do y’all think?  Will he do it again?  Or will he bah-humbug out on me?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calista
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 01:17:15

    Okay, I am uber impressed. How did he do this? Is he up to posting a “how to”? Seriously, what is this stuff hangin’on? Is it just wired together. I have been known for keeping a hunters orange vest and wire cutters in my trunk so I can strip the trees along the interstate system. If you are driving down 55 and see a weirdo pruning the fence line, it’s just me, shout a honk………

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 03:49:24

    I want a frame like that!!! Oooh I hope I remember for next year…it’s not gonna happen this year!

    Reply

  3. Mrs Lemon
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 08:01:59

    that is so beautiful!

    Reply

  4. Meg @ spicy magnolia
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 08:19:49

    Wow!!! It looks beautiful! Magnolias are my favorite! How did he do it? Seeing as how you brought your blog buddies into this, he’s just gotta do it again for you this year. He’s just gotta! It’s too beautiful not to!

    Reply

  5. upsidebrown
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 08:33:09

    I’m thinking he still owes you for the 10 days before a party and the symphony debacle. If he knows what’s good for him, give him the pruners and the wire!!! NOW!!!

    Reply

  6. Kim H.
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 09:01:50

    Did his Mama kill him for stripping her tree? Sometimes that has an effect on their judgement for the next time around. 🙂 I hope that he does do it again though – it looks really pretty!

    Reply

  7. Kelley
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 09:18:19

    I saw a cool wreath made of of these leaves and painted red in Real Simple. I’d be all over it but I have yet to see a magnolia tree in Minnesota.

    Needless to say, that garland is wonderful! I hope he does it again! : )

    Reply

  8. Tater Mama
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 11:24:59

    Mercy! Aren’t y’all sweet! I’ll see if I can talk him into it again and take pictures for a little tutorial. I’m telling ya, he’s handy. I pick on him a good bit, but most days I wouldn’t trade him. Most days.

    Reply

  9. Tatersmama
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 14:32:17

    You tell Tater Daddy that we’re all watchin’ and waitin’ to see this year’s garland… and we want instructions.

    The only Magnolia within 50 miles is smack dab in the middle of my backyard… but I would be willing to sacrifice for something that lovely !

    Reply

  10. Kerstin
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 16:08:59

    I’m so impressed- that’s beautiful! Seriously- he needs to post a tutorial. I’m not sure if Brett would let me strip our Magnolia tree but I would LOVE to at least know what to do in case I accidentally forget one day that I wasn’t suppose to touch the tree. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Melanie
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 17:15:16

    You know, it’s a dangerous thing sometimes for one to show just how creative and capable one is. The precedent has been set and there are at least 11 folks out in the blogosphere looking forward to seeing this year’s offering along with instructions. No pressure though.

    Reply

  12. Trackback: It’s Beginning To Sound a Lot Like Christmas « Tater Tales
  13. kim sue
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 11:07:39

    he sounds like a keeper :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

