The Origin (or not) of Chess Pie

A couple of you have asked

  • What in the world is chess pie? and
  • How did it get it’s name?

Well, because I love new bloggyland friends, and my mother is entertaining Tater Tot, or vice versa, I’ve found a link for you with a couple of theories.  You can read them and decide which one you like best.

Anyway, a chess pie is delicious.  It’s butter, sugar, and eggs.  HELLO?!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 22:54:54

    And, well, there you go. Cool. I’ll have to try it. Thanks for the history lesson.

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Nov 27, 2008 @ 03:12:10

    Mahalo! Our menu is full but ONE DAY I am going to make me some chess pie!!!!

    Reply

  3. Calista
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 15:14:13

    Looks like we’ll be having this for Christmas at the Patterson house. Someone told me you could put chocolate chips in one of these and that was good too, have you ever tried that???

    *******************************
    I have never tried, but how could it NOT be good?! Butter, eggs, sugar, and chocolate! Oh, sweet goodness! Leave it for Santa, and he might double the loot!

    Reply

  4. plainandfancypieces
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 11:47:15

    These really are pretty good pies. I had never heard of them until a few years ago when my darlin’ southern husband was telling me about his favorite: coconut chess pie. Found a recipe on the Internet and been making them about once or twice a year ever since. It’s like a big ole macaroon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

