Thank Goodness for Elastic-Waist Pants, Among Other Things

I’m thankful for a lot of things.  But after having eaten two HUGE meals within five hours of each other, I am eternally grateful for whomever cinched up a pair of pants with a strip of elastic and called it a day.

We started off at my mother’s house Thursday at around 12:30 with turkey, dressing, corn pudding, sweet potato casserole, asparagus casserole, cranberry salad, pumpkin pie, and chess pie.  Then we all fell out and napped until we were really good for nothing.

I grabbed a pecan pie out of the oven, and the hubs and the young’un and I headed deep into the country for his extended family’s get-together where we did it all over again.  Only this time, there was double the food.  Plus ham.  And a coconut cake that would’ve made you slap the person sitting next to you had you been there.

Tater Daddy headed back to Memphis because we have all of these dogs to fool with, but the Tot and I stayed with Poopsie for another night.  My brother, Jim, was home.  And there is nothing better to a two-year-old than an uncle who’ll give you his undivided attention.  For the 36 hours we were together, Tater Tot had probably the best playmate ever.  At one point I looked up and he was being pushed down the hall in a box making train noises.  When I asked my brother how he got talked into THAT one, he said, “Well, he got in the box and I just started pushing it.”  It was kind of like, You’re such a girl sometimes.

So anyway, we finally left late this afternoon, and I’m sure my poor tired brother was a little relieved when we left.  I mean, entertaining a toddler will take it out of you.

But it’ll also put something into you.

Both of you.

nothin-like-an-uncle

When Tater Tot was going to sleep tonight, and we were telling God who and what we were thankful for, the first thing he said was, “Uncle Jim!”

I’m thankful for Uncle Jim, too.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 00:15:28

    “Thank goodness for elastic-waist pants” — ha ha! You are my kind of people. 😀 Glad that you all had a lovely Thanksgiving. I’ll bet sitting back and watching someone ELSE wear themselves out playing with Tater Tot was a nice change of pace — especially after two big meals. 🙂 It’s good to have family.

    Speaking of Thanksgiving (leftovers), I’m off to gobble the last slice of pumpkin pie. Right before bed. (Can you hear my metabolism screaming?)

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 17:44:52

    I will have to remember that one….a toddler takes it out of you…but puts it into you.

    Reply

Leave a comment