It’s Beginning To Sound a Lot Like Christmas

Now that it’s officially December, I can start decking the halls and playing Christmas music.  I just can’t do it before the calendar flips over from November, y’all.  In some way it seems like I’m cheating the memory of the Pilgrims, or at the very least, the poor turkey who gave its life for the day of gluttony we celebrated Thursday.

Since we have NO storage space, all of our Christmas stuff is stored in a house — and I use that term loosely — on my mother’s farm.  My little helper and I are going to fetch most of it tomorrow, and as Tater Daddy has time this week, we hope he’ll start putting up the tree.  Oh, I am getting excited, folks!  I may even bake something!

Then later in the week we’ll go back and cut magnolia for the great garland making of 2008!  It’s Friday, in case you’re interested…

Since we don’t have snow in these parts to get us into the holiday mood, and those sycamore leaves (see yesterday’s post) certainly don’t say Here Comes Santa Claus, one of the things I’m most looking forward to is the Christmas music!  I LURVE it, LURVE it, LURVE it!

Here are a few of the CDs that’ll be playing in our home and in my car at any given moment this season:

  • Noel by Josh Grobin
  • These Are Special Times by Celine Dion
  • A WOW Christmas by Kevin and Bethany Paige  
  • The Sweetest Gift by Trisha Yearwood
  • When My Heart Finds Christmas by Harry Connick, Jr.
  • White Christmas by Martina McBride
  • Christmastide by Jessye Norman
  • Crayola Kids’ Christmas Favorites  (We can’t forget the little man, can we?)

So, what are YOU listening to?  What should I add to my list and either pick up on my next visit to Target, Wal*Mart or Best Buy or order from amazon.com?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 09:27:13

    My husband has made a decree that since he works p/t at night at a Christmas store and has to listen to Christmas music for hours on end that no Christmas music is to be played anywhere within his earshot at any other time.

    I think I’m going to get a bag of cotton balls or earplugs or something for him instead. For while I completely sympathize with his dilemma and would likely feel the same way were I in his shoes, I and the kids are NOT in his dilemma and very much enjoy us some wonderful Christmas music – especially while putting up the tree.

    As for what I want to listen to? Travis Cottrell’s new Christmas cd. I may have to go out and get it today since I’m thinking of it.

    Reply

  2. Jamie
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 09:48:42

    Handel’s Messiah, of course. Can’t have Christmas without the Hallelujah Chorus. The Nutcracker is another classic favorite — my sister and I used to dance and spin ourselves silly to the “fast songs” when we were kids.

    Happy decorating!

    Reply

  3. Kelley
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 13:18:53

    George Winston–December. That who album is awesome. No words, but beautiful, simple, piano music!

    Oh, and I love a little Harry Connick, Jr. : )

    Reply

  4. Jennifer Duett
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 22:33:17

    Ray Charles Christmas, Billboard Christmas Hits (includes some oldies but goodies), and Elvis Christmas (when he sings O Come All Ye Faithful I get chills). Oh, and I do love my Harry Connick, Jr. Christmas CD too.

    Reply

  5. calista
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 01:37:23

    Listening to the oldies but goodies, Elvis, Nat King Cole, Sinatra, and of course…Alvin and the Chipmonks….you need to get that movie for Bo, it is too cute…

    Reply

  6. Jenny
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 11:50:11

    I think you got most of them, but I love the classics. I found a cd at Walmart last year with Bing Crosby, Burl Ives, The Andrew Sisters, Brenda Lee, etc. As much as I love the new ones, it just isn’t Christmas without the “real” ones. Plus, Elvis, anything Harry Connick, and even James Taylor’s Christmas album. And if you have Directv, there’s a station up in the 800s called Holly. We listen to it while cleaning, etc. Feel better soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

