I May Have a Drinking Problem…One Way Or Another

About the only thing that will make me turn away from my Diet Coke habit is a nasty sinus infection that settles into my chest, which happened sometime around 3 o’clock this morning.  When this occurs, I start consuming large quantities of this stuff.

raspberry-tea

I add a little lemon and honey only because I’m a little odd.  I don’t know that this tea has any healing properties, but it seems to soothe the scratchy throat and ward off the cough for a while.

The real healing power comes from the mug, of course.

santa-mug

I know.  It’s a slow day at the house o’ Tater.

There’s plenty to do, not the least of which is decorating.  Tater Daddy informed me last night that because he is working to meet several deadlines at work, most of the decorating will fall to me.  I realize that this is the case in most households, but you have to understand that I am married to a man who can put up a Christmas tree and have it lit and decorated in the time it takes me to unzip the storage bags.  Plus, he likes things just so, and you’ve already seen what he can do with a branch or two of magnolia.

So here I sit, coughing and staring at several bags that, together, hold an 11-foot Christmas tree that I have no idea how to assemble so that it points in an upright position.  I think the thing is pre-lit, so that adds another level of difficulty.

I know that he has deadlines and all, and that he is the only one of the two of us with a paying job.  And I know that deadlines = pressure.

But, MY WORD, MAN!  BooMama’s Christmas Tour of Homes is coming up in 13 days!  Talk about PRESSURE!

It’s enough to give me a drinking problem of another kind.  I may have to break out the hard stuff.

hot-cocoa

And then, well, I can’t be held responsible for what the house looks like once I’m under the influence….  Everything might just be dotted with tiny little marshmallows and whipped cream.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg @ SpicyMagnolia
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 15:39:27

    You’ve made me start boiling my water right now! That hot chocolate is screaming my name!!

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 16:18:39

    Does Swiss Miss soothe holiday stress? Like of the family variety?

    *************************************
    Oh, yes ma’am! I have found that Swiss Miss soothes all kinds of stress. But be careful. Before you know it you’ll be on your second or third cup, and we’ll all be praying for your chocolate-crazed soul…

    Reply

  3. Tatersmama
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 18:31:09

    See? Here I was worrying about my sorry old self, and I should be worryin’ about you instead !
    I think it’s great that we can connect this way and I’m sooo grateful that my friends have a way of taking me out of myself.
    So just say the word, and I’ll be around with some Nyquil, eh?
    😉

    *healthy hugs, my friend*

    Reply

  4. Angelena@Little Mountain House
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 20:26:48

    Hope you feel better soon. Have you tried celestial seasoning true blueberry tea? It is wonderful – my fav when I am sick.

    Reply

  5. Melanie
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 22:32:48

    You know, when I’m sick and coughing like that, for some reason I C.R.A.V.E. orange juice. I rarely drink it any other time. Weird. Hope you’re feeling better very soon.

    Reply

  6. Kerstin
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 23:55:39

    I love that it’s not just raspberry tea, it’s raspberry ZINGER. Do you think it would zing some energy into me? Because I’m experiencing a major case of laziness this week! Hope it works for you and that you get rid of that cough soon!

    PS- LOVE your prayer- I have NO DOUBT that is what she was praying for! Your soooo funny!

    Reply

  7. Kelley
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 10:54:37

    I hear ya about the Boo Mama holiday tour pressure! AHHH!

    Hope you feel better…sinus infections are awful. I had one about a month ago that gave me the worst earache EVER. Ugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

