And Now I’m REALLY Sick

Thanks for your concerns about my pesky old cough and sinus mess.  My sympathetic doctor called in a nice little antibiotic yesterday, so it should be kicking in by tomorrow, and Robitussin makes a pretty decent cough medicine if you can manage to swallow it.  I’m on the mend.

Why, then, for the title of this post?

When Tater Tot and I were driving home from my mother’s house Monday afternoon with a load of Christmas decorations, the engine light on my car came on.  I didn’t think it was a big deal.  The car has just under 60,000 miles on it, and the last time the light came on it was because a cap was loose or something like that.  I called the Volvo dealership and asked if they could look at my wagon (go ahead and laugh at my nerdmobile) the next day.

We took it in Tuesday morning.  By 3:30 I hadn’t heard anything, which usually isn’t a good sign, so I called and talked to my favorite service manager, Bob.

ME:  Hey, Bob.  How’s my sweet little station wagon?

BOB:  Well, it’s still on the rack.  Let me call you back in a few minutes.

About ten minutes later the phone rang.  Your powers of perception are excellent if you’re thinking that it was Bob.

BOB:  Hey.  It’s Bob.  Well, we’re not going to have your car ready today.  It’s probably going to be Thursday before I’ve got the parts (Yes, he said PARTS.) we need, so I’ve got something here for you to drive.

ME:  Let me guess.  It’s one of your SUVs, isn’t it.

BOB:  Uh….yeah.  Why?

ME:  Because that’s how I know this is going to be bad.  If it weren’t bad, you’d give me an old sedan or one of the newer, smaller ones.  Anyway, what’s wrong with my wagon?

Bob went on to tell me that my wagon, which was completely paid for in October, has a faulty something-or-other temperature-thingy, which was making the engine light come on.  Not cheap.  In addition, it needs brake pads, front and rear wiper blades, and the rear wiper arm needs replacing. It also needs something having to do with stabilizing the engine so that it doesn’t shift every time it’s torqued.  I may have that one wrong, as I’m in territory that is unfamiliar to me.  Can you tell?  Not only that, but it was time for my 60,000-mile tune-up, so there’s another chunk o’ change.  And to top it all off, I need tires.  Four of ’em.  I’m forgetting a couple of other little things, but you get the picture, right?  Not cheap.  Not cheap.  NOT CHEAP!

I’ll be curled up in the fetal position on the bathroom floor for the next day or two.  And then I’ll get over all this whining and moping, folks.  It’s just that when it rains, it pours.

Oh, mercy.  Let’s hope the roof doesn’t leak….

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angelena@Little Mountain House
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 21:06:32

    OH no!! I hate little surprises like that.

    Reply

  2. D
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 21:34:49

    Yikes…sorry about that. That is no fun!

    Reply

  3. Jenn
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 22:05:31

    Yep. That’s why I trade every 3 years. Tires never need replacing (by me.) Tune ups don’t need to be paid for (by me). You get the idea! Here’s the hoping you get a little Christmas blessing instead of proverbial coal in your stocking over this one….

    Reply

  4. Tatersmama
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 00:41:05

    Oh no ! That sucks major weinies. Or is that sucks weinies majorly?
    Whatever… It isn’t good.
    Why do these things always happen around Holiday time when you need every last penny for Christmas goodies – AND your own car for running around doing the endless Christmas season / family stuff?
    I think I would be scared spitless driving some hulking SUV, but I promise I’m not gonna say a word at all about you owning a VOLVO. (shhhhh)

    Reply

  5. Kelley
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 14:47:46

    Oh I HATE that!

    Sorry Tater Mama!!

    Reply

  6. thefarmerfiles
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 21:34:21

    Oh I winced when I read this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

