Hey, Blog, I Remember You

Oh, hey.  This WordPress page looks familiar.  I’ll see if I can remember how it works, but since it’s been a while, I can’t make a lot of promises.

Ever since we unloaded about three miles of magnolia garland from the back of my husband’s truck, I’ve been trying to hang the stuff.  That was Friday night.  It’s now early afternoon on the 8th.  As it turns out, I’m not so great at the “hanging of the greens.”  The magnolia?  It is heavy.

For one thing, the branches have broken in a couple of places.  This may or may not be due to some mishandling on my part.  Who can say for sure?  So I’ve had to do some taking-apart and rewiring, and it just hasn’t gone as smoothly as planned.  I really appreciate the fact that Tater Daddy made the garland and all, but I’m not ashamed to admit that it was a lot easier two years ago when I walked out the front door and there it was.  Strung together, hung up, and beautiful.  In other words, I think I like it better when someone else does it.

Right now, one side of the front door is bedecked with garland.  The other side and the top will have to wait until Tater Tot conks out for his nap.  

In addition to fighting with the garland, I’ve been attacked by the biggest pile of laundry I think I’ve ever seen.  It is one of the great mysteries of my life.  We are a little family of three, yet our laundry baskets would suggest that we are the Brady Bunch or the Partridge Family.  The towels alone will take four loads.  (Somewhere my brother is laughing and saying, “Well, of course, Sistuh.  You are the Amelda Marcos of towels.”)

Is it just me, or does anyone else cringe at the sound of the dryer buzzer?

Argh.  Speak of the devil.

So sorry for the more-boring-than-normal post today.  It’s all I’ve got.

Sad, isn’t it?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 21:35:16

    ‘Tis is a woman’s lot, no? All the domesticated duties that sink us deeper into a contiuum of sheer boredom of a routine. For T&I, laundry is no less of a mystery as to where it all comes from. I can only imagine what it’ll be like once we add a kiddo to the mix!

    Reply

  2. Calista
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 02:15:22

    Just wait until the small fry puts his own things in the dirty clothes, suddenly things there were simply “tried on” are dirty……for them, it’s easier than putting them away…..LOL

    Reply

  3. Meg @ SpicyMagnolia
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 09:22:04

    That silly buzzer sound makes me jump every time, and usually I just let the clothes sit in there until I’m good and ready to go fish them out…which might be a day or two later. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kim H.
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 09:24:40

    Yeah – I think I would have abandoned the garland by now… either that or one of us wouldn’t come out alive. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Ginny
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 09:56:05

    Ok, you never cease to amaze me…talents galore! I’m sorry I haven’t been reading the old blogs lately; I have missed them! BUT…go to my blog (yes, I said BLOG!) and read my latest posting…I’m thinking I’m a better reader than writer…Love to all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

