A Few of My Favorite Things

I haven’t finished my Christmas shopping.  I’ll even let you in on a little secret.  I really haven’t started on things that won’t dazzle a certain two-year-old on Christmas morning.  Back in July or August, I promised myself that I would be finished with all holiday shopping by Halloween.  Obviously, I’m not the greatest at keeping promises that I make to myself.  Sure, I make myself mad, but I also forgive myself pretty easily, so it all works out.

Any-ol-hoo, as I’m sitting around trying to think of what this person and that person might like, I thought I’d share a few things that have popped into my head or that I’ve come across in my sofa shopping trip.  

Last year, my sister-in-law gave this candle to my mother-in-law.  She raved about it for, like, nine days, and swore that it would last a solid year.  Seriously?  A candle that lasts a year.  I looked the thing over and immediately looked up the company on the internet.  I know what you’re thinking.  Any candle that costs that much had darn-well-better last a year.  Well, y’all, I found a place in town that sells them — for a few dollars less than the parent company — and I took some of my Christmas money and bought the small one.  Here we are, one year later, and that candle still has some burn in it.  I have to say that it’s worth the money.  I haven’t even mentioned how wonderful it smells.  So, um, it smells wonderful!  I wouldn’t spend this kind of money on a candle for just anybody, but if someone you love LOVES candles, this is the perfect gift.

I have to go against one of the big fashion DOs this season and say that as far as scarves go, well, I’m just not a fan.  I’m all for them when they’re used to keep me warm, but wearing them as a fashion accessory is just an accident waiting to happen for a klutz such as myself.  So, if you’re like me and you like to wear a scarf for warmth’s sake, I think that the person who came up with this one is one smart cookie.  The thing I like most about the scarf is its design.  If it comes loose, it’s surely easy to tighten.  It also comes in super-cute colors, and if you’re feeling extra generous, there are matching hats.  Because everyone looks good with hat hair and a little static electricity, right? 🙂

This idea occurred to me as I was digging out my Christmas CDs.  Actually, it occurred to me as I realized that several of them have gotten scratched since I threw them in the driver’s seat pocket even though I carefully packed them away in my CD case last January.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have a little case just for holiday CDs?  Maybe in a nice bright red, so as to jog the person’s memory as to what it holds.

Several years ago, my father gave me a pair of these slippers after hearing me complain about how my feet were always cold in the winter due to the fact that we live in an old house that Bob Vila himself probably wouldn’t come near.  I’m happy to say that my feet have been toasty-warm ever since.  If someone on your list suffers from chilly toes, these are a wonderful gift.  Pretty?  No.  But who cares?   You know, this is the first Christmas we’ll spend without my Dad, which means that it’s the first year that Cabela’s will spend without him, too.  If you read that their sales are down this year, you’ll know why.  Daddy had a credit card that he used to pay for almost everything because it allowed him to earn “Cabela points” and he loved to spread the Cabela love at Christmas.  One year he gave me a fleece jacket very much like this one, and I wear it all the time.  Based on what I’ve been given from Cabela’s, I have to say that it’s good stuff.  From what I understand, some of their items are on sale, so you might want to check ’em out.

Several years ago, my friend, Amy, and our friends, Sheila and Nan, took a little road-trip to Marigold, MS, to the McCarty Pottery studio.  If you’re ever in the area, you should check it out.  But go early, because it gets crowded fast.  Everyone on my list got McCarty pottery that year whether they liked pottery or not!  Anyway, we stopped in Cleveland, MS, at A La Carte Alley for lunch, and OH.MY.WORD!  If we lived closer, I’d go every chance I got.  For Christmas that year, Amy gave me the cookbook that the owner wrote, and I use it all the time.  I’ve made most of the recipes in it, and they’ll make a good cook out of someone who can’t boil water.  If you know someone who likes to cook and is always looking for some good, new recipes, this is a great cookbook to give.  You can also contact the restaurant and purchase a cookbook through them if you want a signed copy.  Here’s the phone number:  (662)843-6510.

If only I were as well-to-do as Oprah.  Then I could shower all four of you with a gift basket containing all of “My Favorite Things.”  I wish I could.  Because I’d probably add a couple of things to the list.  Like a month’s stay at a Mediterranean resort and a year’s supply of diet coke. 

Have a great day everyone!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 12:23:12

    A big ol’ DITTO to the scarf! If klutziness were a disease, I’d be chronically ill. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 19:57:12

    I can’t get over the price on that candle!! WOW!

    Reply

  3. kim sue
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 21:23:50

    got lots of that pottery….and I mean lots, I have a slight addiction But, lets move on to some al a carte. love that place…did you eat the potato salad? i have the recipe (from that same cookbook) but mine just isn’t the same as theirs…hmmmm? and fried okra with jezebel sauce, seriously I want to make a road trip tomorrow!

    Reply

  4. Upside Brown
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 11:47:39

    Um..hello…fellow Cabela’s stock owner! And if someone wanted to go shopping in our garage, we could hang a shingle that says “Bargain Basement Cabela’s Containment Store”. Seriously. Cabela’s is good stuff. SB is living proof and living out loud with it all.

    Reply

  5. kari & kijsa
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 12:49:21

    Wow.. for a candle!!! Still shopping ourselves!!

    blessings, kari & kijsa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

