Ny-Quil and Wedgies

I doubt that what I’m about to admit will draw any gasps of disbelief.  

I hate cough medicine of any kind.  I know.  Shocking, isn’t it?  What with it being so tasty and all.

Before we had a child who watches, learns from and imitates our every move,  my husband practically had to knock me half-unconscious and pour cough medicine (Robitussin, Ny-Quil, whatever) down my throat in order for me to take it.  I have loads of memories of the two of us standing over the kitchen sink with him trying his best to get me to take two silly little tablespoons and me crying, saying, “I can’t do it.  I can’t do it.”  And then once I’d nearly coughed up a lung and my resistance was down, I’d finally hold my nose closed and swallow.  My poor husband would shove a cookie or cracker at me, followed by some kind of juice, and then he’d give me a pep talk about how much better I was going to feel and how great it was that I managed to swallow the blasted stuff without throwing up.

I am pathetic.

Last night, though, I took a swig of Ny-Quil, and I had to do it on my own.  Because, really, what mother needs her toddler to witness her having a complete meltdown over taking cough medicine?  

For the life of me I can’t figure out the whole cough medicine taste thing.  It’s almost 2009.  Look at the strides medical science has made in pharmacology alone.  And they can’t make adult cough medicine taste like something other than, oh, I don’t know….gasoline?

If I’m totally honest with you, I have to admit that I didn’t even take the whole dose.  I couldn’t get it down.  Every gag reflex kicked in, my eyes watered, and my nose started to run instantly.  My little shadow  asked, “What are you doing, Mama?”

“Taking my medicine,” is what I said back, but what I was thinking was I’m praying that the person at the Ny-Quil place who decided that THIS was their best effort has a super-sized wedgie for the rest of his life.  But why go into wedgies with a two-year-old boy, right?  

About that time, my husband walked in.  As Tater Tot scooted off to play, I blubbered on about how I much I hate cough medicine, blah…blah…blah.  

“That’s such a shame,” he said.  And then he reminded me, “I LOVE the stuff.  Wish I had a reason to take it more often.”

He sported a wedgie for the rest of the night.  I’m not sure if THAT or the Ny-Quil helped me sleep through the night.  

We’ll just say that it was a combination of the two.

(Cough, cough, wink, wink.)

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 15:32:33

    Well good golly! I hope you get over this bug in time for Christmas!! Every time I’d complain about taking meds when I was a kid, my mom or grandma would remind me how fortunate I was that they weren’t pouring castor oil down my throat! Okay, mom – point taken!

    Have you thought about Dimetapp? It seems to get kids to come out from under beds and from behind curtains. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kelley
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 16:08:24

    2-day walk, 3-day walk…it’s all the same! Here is a link that will give you everything you need to know:

    http://60milemen.typepad.com/main/The_New_Underground_Guide.pdf

    Granted, it’s formatted for the 60 mile walk, but again, 2 days, 3 days–the outcome is the same. Read this and you’ll have a good idea of what to expect. Let me know if you have any other questions!

    Reply

  3. Allison L
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 18:40:11

    That was a super funny post! I am laughing out loud right now…not at you, but at your wit and humor in describing the situation! I am right there with you on that one! I also can’t stomach Pepto…for me, the taste makes me want to vomit more rather than stop it!

    Reply

  4. Lora Lynn
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 20:13:38

    Do you like brandy? Probably not. But if you think you could stand it better, mix one tablspn brandy with one tablespn honey and one tablespn of juice of your choice. Warm it slightly in the microwave. My kids LOVE it. Not that I would ever give it to my kids, of course. Ahem.

    Reply

  5. Tatersmama
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 20:57:39

    I’m not overly fond of Nyquil myself… but you can’t GET the stuff in this country and there are times I purely miss it.
    Whenever I get sick, I start blubbering that old commercial.
    Stuffy nose, scratchy throat, coughing, I feel achy.
    I should take…….. NYQUIL !

    I WANT MY NYQUIL!

    Reply

  6. Upside Brown
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 22:31:50

    GURL….. I am rolling on the floor!

    Reply

  7. Heather
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 09:39:51

    You poor thing! Have you ever tried taking Dayquil/Nyquil Sinus LiquiCaps? They work amazingly well, and the best part is you don’t have to deal with that whole yucky medicine taste thing!

    *******************************
    I’m off to the store NOW to get some of those things! Thanks for the tip!

    Reply

  8. Meg @ SpicyMagnolia
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 09:57:59

    Wedgies, huh?…LOL!! You’re such a good, brave mommy!! And I hope you feel better really soon!

    Reply

  9. Brandy
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 12:31:11

    As I was gagging down my own nyquil the other night I too wondered why is has to taste so vial.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

