Adventures in Scarf-Wearing

I’m taking a break from Boo Mama’s Tour of Homes to actually write something.  There’s a little voice in my head that tells me I should be cleaning the bathrooms and vacuuming up all of the dog hair that the angels have dropped since I vacuumed less than 24 hours ago.  But then that little voice said that she’d be quite if I fed her some candy.  Done.

My mother-in-law made me a scarf for my birthday, and I’m crazy about it.  Love the color.  Love the fact that she made it.  Love it.  But you know how I am about scarves.  I’m comfortable wearing them for warmth, but as a fashion accessory, I’m stumped.  They look great on other people, but they obviously know how to tie them correctly.  When I do it, it looks like I’ve wadded a small blanket around myself and have become trapped.

Nonetheless, yesterday was rather chilly — around 40 degrees — so I decided that I would wear a turtleneck and try out the scarf.  After all, Tater Tot was not going to be with me as I ran some errands, so the chances of a scarf-related accident/injury/embarrassing moment were reduced significantly.  The problem lay in deciding how to best wear my new treasure.

I’m going to post some pictures that were taken in a very messy spare bedroom.  Please excuse the clutter.  I should have hung up the dry cleaning and moved the other stuff, but I can only focus on one thing at a time.  You know me.  Some of the pictures are fuzzy because I had to turn the flash off.   Again, my apologies.

Here’s a picture showing how long the scarf is.  It’s a good thing that I am on the tall side.

it-is-long

What to do?  What to do?  I tried it like this:

knotted

But that seemed too bulky.  I needed to be able to reach the steering wheel…at least occasionally.  (I rarely look at pictures of myself, but my word!  I sure do have a long face.  Neigh!  Neigh!)

So I started playing with the scarf, and I tried it like this:

incognito

But then I decided that I looked kind of terrorist-y, but in pink.  So I tried again.  What about as a headband/scarf combination?

headband

Oh, goodness, no!  For one thing, it was a dumb idea.  And for another, it made my face look even longer.  Not good.  

Then I just got silly.  (Then?)

turban-like

After realizing that I really need to clean that mirror and wipe some little-boy fingerprints off, I decided on this look.

the-end-result

That’s how I went through the day.  My neck was very warm and cozy, and I loved wearing something that was made just for me.

Good news?  I only shut in in the car door once, and I noticed it before driving all over town with it hanging out of the door.

Now I’m off to clean that mirror!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Upside Brown
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 15:18:37

    Remind me to never give you a scarf as a present!! NOTE TO SELF. NOTE TO SELF!! I LOVE IT on you though…. Just roll with it… you look amazing all the time… even in the fuzzy slippers that no one sees!!

    ***************************
    At least I know how to WEAR the fuzzy slippers! Scarves…not so much! TM

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 19:57:40

    As an East Coaster who has had my fair share of cold days, may I make a tiny suggestion? If you fold it in half and then put it around your neck the way you did in your first picture.. Okay, here’s the neat part are you ready? Okay. Take the side that has the two ends with the fringe and pull it through the loop on the opposite side. You may have to play with it a wee bit but it’ll look great and you won’t have to deal with any car door drama! Here is a YouTube demonstration in case my verbiage was not clear enough… the very last example is the one I was trying to explain! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIHkeNcq2Wk

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 20:34:53

    Too funny. I always resort to the way you wore yours. But I envied all the other northern VA girls that could wear them so preppy and cute and correctly!!!

    Reply

  4. Allison L
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 21:31:46

    I am actually wearing a scarf today, too and I did it just as Heather (above) explained. It is my favorite way to wear it…you can make it tight or loose that way! Enjoy your new scarf!

    Reply

  5. Jamie
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 22:08:36

    Love your scarf-modeling shots. Hilarious. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Calista
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 01:33:47

    I am NO good at such things…….

    Reply

  7. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 09:56:16

    LOVE, did I say LOVE? the pictures! You’re too cute! I like the scarf on you. I have no idea how to wear them either, but they’re so fun to drag out during winter. Sometimes I double up the scarf and then loop it through on the front. I know that makes no sense, but I have no idea how to describe it. And with your scarf, it might be too bulky. It might be what Heather tried to describe. 🙂 Happy Friday!

    Reply

  8. Lora Lynn
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 12:40:06

    Hilarious. I’m so glad your neck survived.

    Reply

  9. Kim H.
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 18:57:13

    Oh my gosh – I’m rolling over the pictures! How funny… I do love the scarf though – very nice!

    Reply

  10. JLI
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 16:05:29

    What?!? No votes for the scarf piled on top of Tater Mama’s head?!? May I be the first to cast a “yea” vote for that look! **giggles**

    Hey, you didn’t asphyxiate yourself, so I’d say your ventures in scarf-wearing were an overwhelming success!

    Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

