“Lights. Lights Would Be Good Here”

Who knows what actress spoke the words I used in the title and what movie the line comes from?  Anyone besides my friend Kristi?  (Because after she reads this, she will immediately either comment or call me.)

I thought we were through decking our halls and such until the other night when I saw my husband heading out the front door with the ladder and a box of lights.  So I thought I’d show you our new and updated front door.

garland-with-lights

The wreath also has some tiny LED lights on them, but I refuse to turn them on.  The look BLUE.  And as that movie maiden of good taste, Annelle, said, “Not too much.  I don’t want it to look tacky!”

We also added this inside the front door.

another-inside-pic

I usually have a Christmas cactus in the snowman pail, but time is getting away from me.  So we figured we’d just put colored lights in it.  But not too much, because…..you know the rest.

If I get really brave, Tater Tot and I are going to make homemade sugar cookies later on.  And then maybe we’ll make a wreath made entirely out of Baby Jesuses….

(C’mon!  I KNOW you know the movie those last quotes and references are from.  Right?  Anyone?)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. upsidebrown
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 08:44:23

    Um yeah!!! You are definitely in the festive decorating mode now, sista! I’m cracking up at the blue lights – laughter through tears – my favorite emotion!!!

    Reply

  2. upsidebrown
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 08:58:19

    Oh and one more….just for old times sake… “the only difference between us and the animals is our ability to accessorize.” great lights, Tater Daddy!!

    Reply

  3. Allison L
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 09:12:00

    Ummm. Pretty Woman is the first one, but I am stumped on the last one, maybe Steel Magnolias?!

    Thanks for the sweet email. You’re welcome. I have truly loved finding new blogs and ones that I can relate to! I wish you a very Merry Christmas, too!

    Reply

  4. Kelley
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 09:45:31

    First quote: Pretty Woman as Julia Roberts gets in the car and they drive away.

    Second quote: The only Annelle character I know is from Steele Magnolias which would be fitting with a magnolia garland! : )

    Reply

  5. Pendy
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 11:31:26

    Christmas aside for a moment…what a beautiful portrait!

    Reply

  6. Jenna
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 11:46:41

    Hello! I was immediately drawn to your website because my dog’s name is Tater (frequently elongated to Tater-tot) and he is the center of our world, as it certainly appears that your Tater is the center of yours!

    I read a few of your other posts… and saw your post about the scarf which made me laugh, both because I regularly wear my scarf as an accessory (actually I just forget to take it off when I get to work!) and because pink is such a wonderful color… Would you call that more blush or bashful? (If you ask me… it’s pink or pink… I played M’Lynn in a college production)!

    Reply

  7. Kim H.
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 18:53:31

    Julia Roberts – Pretty Woman… hysterical!

    I LOVE the new door – that is beautiful… and the picture of Tater is great too.

    Reply

  8. thefarmerfiles
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 12:53:28

    Man that doorway is some CHRISTMAS ROMANCE. I hope you loved on him! That pic of Tater is so precious!

    Reply

  9. JLI
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 16:08:22

    My folks did LED lights on their tree this year. Believe it or not, it was actually more obnoxious from about 50 yards away. Up close, not so bad. I’m a multi-color girl, myself. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Trackback: The Year that Santa Brought the Tree « Tater Tales

Leave a Reply

