The Ghost of Christmas (Cards) Past

Our Christmas cards went out in today’s mail, which is the latest I’ve ever sent them.  I’ve cut it close before, but never like this.  Most of the delay came from trying to get Tater Tot to sit still in front of the tree and smile at a time when he was relatively clean and dressed nicely.  Didn’t happen.  I begged.  I pleaded.  I even tried bribing.  Evidently the art of bribery doesn’t work until the day after Christmas, when you could not care less about those Christmas cards.

So this year I picked a card that showed four pictures of Tater Tot from the last few months and gave Walgreen’s a big chunk of my money.  As I was looking through all of the pictures I’ve taken since October or so, I couldn’t help but look at the whole photo library.

It doesn’t seem like two years have passed since we sent Christmas Cards out with this picture.

2006-picture

It’s still one of my favorite pictures.  Sleeping babies are beautiful, aren’t they?

I’m going to show a few pictures from Tater Tot’s first Christmases, if you don’t mind indulging a mama who’s taking a short walk down memory lane.

My Dad was holding Tater Tot and put this Santa hat on him.  We have it in a Christmas frame and will put it out every year!

santa-hat

Here he is in his Christmas pajamas.  We spent Christmas Eve with family and drove back home that night.  We took this right before we put him in his crib.

christmas-eve-2006

After lunch, we would put Tater Tot in my Dad’s lap and within just a few minutes he would snuggle down into the crook of Daddy’s arm and fall fast asleep.  It never failed that Daddy could get him to sleep when no one else could, and I think it tickled him when I would say, “Daddy, will you try?”  Like any good Papa, he was happy to oblige.

papa-and-tt-12-25-06

Here he is with my Mama.  As you can see, Tater Tot had just discovered that sucking on someone’s finger was loads of fun.

poopsie-and-tt-12-25-06

Here we are at Tater Daddy’s parents’ house.  That’s Pawpaw in the picture with us.

mama-pawpaw-tt

And here’s a happy Tater Tot.

giggling

Fast forward one year.  Here’s the picture we used for last year’s card.  We said something clever (cough, cough) about “having a ball this Christmas” on the card.

2007-picture

Santa came, even though we didn’t have a tree or any of our decorations up.

santa-came-07

I’m not sure why we didn’t take more pictures last Christmas.  I really meant to.  This is a picture — the last one — of me with my sweet Daddy.

daddy-and-me

Here’s Tater Tot in the middle of everything, riding one of the toys his cousins gave him.  He has had more fun with that ride-on toy than just about anything, and it’s sad that he’s outgrowing it.  (He really is too big for it, but he loves to ride it anyway!)

country-07

You’re all caught up on Tater Tot’s first two Christmases.  I can sense your relief, although I’m pretty certain that the relief stems from the fact that the blog world only missed out on TWO of them.

Have a wonderful Sunday!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tatersmama
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 03:15:15

    All the photos are precious, but oh, honey… the one with you and your daddy had me reaching for the tissues.

    Reply

  2. Judy
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 08:30:31

    Ohhhhh!!!! I ‘lurved’ all of them! I’m sitting here at my computer (husband and dogs snoring in the background) with the silliest grin on my face as I viewed them. PRECIOUS!

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 11:30:11

    They were each one precious. You know, I loved all the little comments about Tater with your daddy. I hope you tell them to him one day.

    Reply

  4. Kerstin
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 13:32:41

    Thanks for letting us take a walk with you down memory lane. It’s amazing how much they grow in 2 years!

    Reply

  5. kim sue
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 15:56:42

    wonderful walk through christmas’s past :o)

    Reply

  6. Kim H.
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 18:31:52

    So cute – I love walking through pictoral histories like that – it’s neat to watch them grow as the pictures progress. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Calista
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 19:54:18

    It’s hard to believe they grow up so fast.

    Reply

  8. Melissa
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 01:37:59

    I know I don’t comment on a regular basis, but I do read your blogs quite often! This one touched my heart with those sweet, sweet pictures! I hope you have a very Merry Christmas. I know it will be a hard one without your daddy. Call me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

