Merry Christmas To Us All

It’s Christmas Eve, and we’re at my mother’s house for a few hours.  My brother pulled into town a couple of hours ago, and Tater Tot has been on cloud nine ever since Jim walked in the door.  I can hear them somewhere in another part of the house laughing and playing, and it makes me smile.

Every Christmas Eve we go to our cousins’ house for a delicious supper.  It’s casual and relaxed, and I’m thankful that we live close enough that we never have to miss it.

The three of us will head back to Memphis tonight, and tomorrow morning our two-year-old will wake to find that Santa has come.  Of course, he doesn’t really understand much of anything about Christmas except to say that, “I wuv Cwismas!”  He loves the lights and the decorations and the music.  The cookies aren’t bad, either.

We’re doing things a little differently this year.  My mother and brother will come in the morning to our house and we’ll have Christmas dinner there.  As my mother said, “Christmas day is going to blow Tater Tot’s mind,” and we still have my husband’s family to celebrate with in the late afternoon and early evening.  At some point we’ll need to convince the little fellow to take a nap so that he’s not a holy terror by five o’clock.  We shall see.

Of course, everything about this Christmas is different.  It’s the first without my father.  But, you know, it’s really been all right so far.  I miss him, that’s for sure.  But, if it makes any sense, I can hear him laughing with us as we watch Tater Tot play.  I feel like he’s with us even though I can’t see him.  And every now and then I have the sensation that I’ve been gently hugged, and I like to believe that it’s him.

I’ve written before that my Daddy was not the kind of man who would enjoy for one second knowing that those he loved missed out on a moment’s joy because of a moment’s grief.  So, while I my heart is still broken, through his memory, somehow my father is helping put the pieces back together.  

Our Christmas will be different.  But it will be merry, and happy, and very much blessed.

I hope yours it, too.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Dec 25, 2008 @ 02:38:43

    Merry Christmas, Tater Mama. While your dad’s presense will be greatly missed, I pray an extra special sense of God’s. May you be wrapped in peace and great joy and blessed with wonderful memories in the making tomorrow and always.

    Melanie

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Dec 25, 2008 @ 21:47:29

    Merry Christmas – I hope that Tater Tot had a fantastic day, and that his joy lifted your heart in knowing that your Dad is looking down to see him light up today.

    Reply

  3. Kelley
    Dec 26, 2008 @ 09:40:30

    I hope your Christmas was wonderful! And I am confident that the gentle hug you feel IS your dad. : )

    Reply

  4. thefarmerfiles
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 03:32:40

    Merry Christmas! Joy to the World! The LORD is come!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

