Are Y’all THIS TIRED, Too?

We had a wonderful Christmas, and I have every intention of blogging about it at some point.  But exhaustion has taken over.  (Not to mention about 65 loads of laundry that are waiting to be taken care of.)

I wouldn’t have thought that I’d neglect the blog this much over the last week, but I had NO idea just how tired I could get.  Clueless, y’all.  Completely clueless.

When my husband and I married, our niece, Caroline, was about three.  Even though her family lives in our hometown, they always spent Christmas Eve at my husband’s parents’ house because Caroline’s mom wanted her folks to be there to see Caroline’s Christmas morning reaction.  At that time, we only had one dog, so we’d load her up and spend the night with my husband’s family, too.  We wanted to see the WOW moment, too.  I mean, Caroline was the kind of child who was genuinely appreciative if you said, “I got you this Wal-Mart sack.”  She would oooh and aaahhh over it and tell you she loved it and that it was exactly what she hoped for.  And, yes, we’ve tried our best to spoil her rotten for that reason alone.

After Caroline was finally asleep and down for the count, we would stay up and help my Deanna put out the goods.   It was fun for us and it wasn’t at all tiring.  We simply did as we were told and by the time everything was all set, we were wired!  We couldn’t wait for morning to come, and when she did wake up it was magic!

But were we tired?  Heck, no!  We were up, dressed, and drinking our coffee when that sweet little girl pitter-pattered into the den to find that Santa had left her some presents!  We had energy to spare and couldn’t wait to play with her and her new toys.  We would leave for a few hours and have lunch with my family, followed by a nice nap in front of the fireplace.  Then we’d go back out to my in-laws’ house for Christmas supper with my husband’s family.

Was Deanna tired?  Heck, yes!  She was exhausted.  I never understood why.  Why is she so tired?  I thought.  You buy the toys and then put them out.  What’s the big deal?

Yes.  Yes, I AM the dumbest person on earth.  

I know that the tired that I feel is the best kind of tired that you can feel.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything, so please don’t think that I’m complaining.  It’s just a fact that I never really thought much about before now.  Last year, Tater Tot was only 17-months-old at Christmas, and this Santa thing was E-A-S-Y!  Tater Daddy wasn’t feeling well, so I handled putting the little fellow to bed AND Santa duties by myself after spending the day with my Mom, brother, and (very sick) Dad and then driving home from my extended family’s Christmas Eve party.  I was pretty sure I was the new Wonder Woman, only without the great figure and invisible plane.

This year, I am Droopy Woman.  I can barely stand up, and I frequently bump into furniture and walls.

I had to have a mammogram today, and when the boob technician had me firmly latched to and leaning on the “booby-trap” and told me to “Hold real still,” it was not a problem.  I was practically asleep.

THAT’S tired, folks.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tatersmama
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 04:16:22

    Okay, now I’m stressin’.
    I want to know why you’re having your mammies grammed just one day after Christmas??
    I know you’re tired… and at this time of year, that’s understandable, but is that all it is?
    Better be, that’s all I’m sayin’.
    *hugs*

    Reply

  2. Pendy
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 09:33:04

    I’m on day two of undecking the halls and yes, I’m that tired (and my toddlers are grown)! It IS a good tired, though.

    Reply

  3. Melanie
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 10:53:00

    It is now 2 days after Christmas and I am still exhausted plus this dreary weather we’re having doesn’t help one bit. yawn. Later, gater.

    Melanie

    Reply

  4. Angelena@Little Mountain House
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 14:09:58

    I hear ya on the laundry. We have 3 boys and live on a farm. I did not think it was possible to have so much laundry- It’s my life, I tell ya!!

    My aunt gave me some advice to have before you go to get a mammogram. She told me to get naked and go outside in the driveway and let my hubby run over my boobs with the truck the day before the mammo – that way it wouldn’t hurt as bad lol!!

    I’ve not had one done yet – but I know the day will soon come. Best of luck to you!

    Reply

  5. Kim H.
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 10:07:40

    Wow – that is tired! I’ve never had the pleasure, but I’ve heard horror stories. I hope that you’ve rested up by now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

