And We’re Off To a Dull Start!

Happy New Year, y’all!  I hope you had a great New Year’s Eve and you’re doing exciting things today.

As for the Taters?

We are probably the dullest little family on earth when it comes to ringing in the new year.  But dull works for us, so why rock the boat?

Last night, the hubs grilled steaks.  Mine was charred like  a hockey puck well done, just the way I like it.  No pink for me, thank-you-very-much.  Tater Daddy’s was still mooing, I think.  The only person who likes a steak cooked rarer than my husband is his sister, and I’m not sure why anyone bothers to put hers on the grill.

But I digress.

In between playing with Tater Tot and doing laundry here and there, we just piddled around last night.  The hubs watched some TV, and I indulged in my newest addiction, which is playing PathWords on Facebook.  Thanks, BooMama, for mentioning that one.  My interest was piqued, and now  I’m completely hooked on it, which is strange because I’m so terribly bad at it.  At one point I actually tried to submit “E-I-E-I-O” for points and became irate when it was denied.

It’s a sickness, I tell you.  But I love it and will keep playing until I’m forced to go into some sort of rehab for PathWords addicts.  That would probably be kind of fun, because most of my friends are hooked on it, too, so it would be like a reunion of sorts.  I’m HAVE to keep playing.  So if the same post if up on the blog for a day or six, you’ll know it’s because I’m getting my fix.

When the new year actually rolled around, I was already in bed, but I heard the neighbors shooting off their bottle rockets and firecrackers.  So did Tater Tot, and it scared the wits out of him.  That bought him a one-way ticket into Mama’s bed, and I eventually fell asleep with a toddler glued to my side.

It’s around 1:00 right now, and the hubs just emerged from the shower, all nice and clean.  Tater Tot and I are still in our pajamas, and I think we’ll start a New Year’s Day tradition of staying in our pajamas until it’s time to put on fresh ones and go to bed.  Except that would be like the Every Other Day tradition we already have going on here at our house, so I may need to tweak it a little.

Tater Daddy is giddy at all of the bowl games he gets to watch today, and Tater Tot is busy with those trains and trucks that Santa left for him.  I’ve just realized that Napoleon Dynamite is on E!, so I’m pretty darn excited myself.  It’s one of those movies that I can’t help but watch if I come across it.  

I’m off to make a huge pot of Ro-Tel and situate myself on the sofa with a 2-liter of diet coke and my laptop.  You know, because of the PathWords addiction.  If I’m lucky I’ll be able to find Steel Magnolias and The Birdcage somewhere on TV, too.  

And then my New Year’s Day celebration will be complete.

I told you we were dull.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tatersmama
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 15:24:27

    Honey, that’s not dull… that’s just called peaceful!
    I would give anything to be able to stay in my jammies all day. :o)

    Wishing you and your little family a Safe, Healthy, Prosperous and Happy New Year!!

    (btw… I printed out those letters… and I couldn’t have done it without your help! (((hugs))) )

    Reply

  2. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 16:53:27

    Not too dull, I must say! Or maybe it’s just because we’re doing very similar things and I so I don’t think it’s dull. 🙂 I’m loving PathWords, too! It is SO addicting! I’m trying to figure out a strategy. Any suggestions or things working for you?

    Reply

  3. Kim H.
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 09:22:16

    Oh my gosh – I just realized that my 10 year long tradition for New Years didn’t happen this year… I ALWAYS watch When Harry Met Sally on New Years Eve, but with my sisters invading this year… I missed out. (The horror!) I guess I’ll have to watch it this weekend when they leave to clear my guilt. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ginny
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 13:24:13

    Girl, I love those dull lives! Ours is JUST like it; the girls are outside playing, I got a shower and put some “real” clothes on (i.e. school shirt and warm up pants), and am about to attack my craft room…UGGG! However, about this PathWords addiction…I’m there with you! I’m also very BAD at it! (You know when the “best”word you’ve ever gotten is DIGGED, your vocabulary is NOT too sporty!) Happy New Year, Tater Family!!! Love to all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

