I Think Ouiser Said it Best

“Have your roots done.”

bad-hair

By the middle of December I really needed an appointment with the guy who does my hair, but December wasn’t the month to spend, say, a hundred or more smackeroos for a cut-n-color job.  (Thanks, economy.  Thanks.)

Last night I took a good look at my roots, though, and I was more than embarrassed.  It looks like I’m trying to let the color grow out.  I’m not.  I just didn’t want Christmas 2008 to be remembered as the one when Tater Tot couldn’t have trains for his train table because Mama needed some highlights.

I hear that a lot of people save money by applying their own color, but unless it’s Halloween and I can get away with a gigantic hair mishap and pass it off as part of a costume, it’s probably best that I leave it to the professionals.  

Obviously, I have a call to make.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tatersmama
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 06:12:51

    Well, it’s roots all right, but why not try looking at them as sort of a mini-halo? At least it isn’t comin’ in gray, like mine is.
    The last time I rang my gal, she had to ask me half a dozen times, “who’s calling? ” My hairdresser comes to my house to work her magic, but I hadn’t called her in months… and she didn’t remember who I was!

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 09:16:39

    I’m cracking up over this post!! I hope you get your highlights soon!

    ****************************
    A week from today, girl! I was on the phone with the salon first thing this morning! I only have to wear a hat for seven more days!!

    Reply

  3. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 09:36:24

    LOL…I love “Tatersmama’s” comment about a mini halo! Little Tater Tot is so thankful he has trains; I just know he is! And now, you go enjoy a little pampering…it always feels good to go get hair done!

    Reply

  4. JLI
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 09:55:19

    Girl, you’re from the south! I’ve got one word for you – TEASE!!!

    Back comb the livin’ highlights…I mean DAYLIGHTS…out of it!! It pushes the still highlighted hair to the top & front. It’s bought me a few weeks many, many times…

    Reply

  5. Heather
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 16:21:30

    As someone who mistakenly tried to take hair color into her own hands a few years back (black is so not my color FYI… brown yes ,but black no,no,no) I would definitely let the professionals handle it. Having to pay even more to undo everything (ie have your hair stripped, recolored and re-highlighted) is just plain depressing, trust me – I learned the hard way!

    Reply

  6. Calista
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 17:10:06

    When you look at the top of my head, it looks like a skunk. Solid white line right down the center. And since my hair grows faster than a chia pet, I have no other choice but to do it mahself, ’cause you know, homegirl just can’t pay somebody to dye the roots every three weeks or two…..

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Why Are Tuesdays So Random? « Tater Tales

Leave a Reply

