Baa, Ram, Ewe!

When BooMama hosted her Christmas Tour of Homes several weeks ago, I included a picture of my great-grandmother’s Nativity scene.  You can read all about it here if you want.  If you don’t, here’s the short story.  I’ve loved it since I was a child, and when my grandmother died, she made sure that I received the Nativity.  It’s not fine or expensive, but it means a great deal to me and I’d like for the pieces to remain intact for a long, long time.

A couple of nights ago I was in the kitchen and Tater Tot was in the den.  I could see that he was playing with something, and I naturally assumed he had his trains on the floor.  Imagine my panic when I realized that he’d gotten his hands on the box and was playing with the Nativity!  I was all ready to put the pieces back in the box immediately and explain to a crying two-and-a-half-year-old why this was a big NO-NO until I saw this.

nativity

He’d set up the Nativity scene all by himself.  During Christmas, it was on a high chest, so it’s not like he’d spent a lot of time looking at it.  I was amazed that (except for a couple of figures who appear to have lost interest) he has everyone crowded around Baby Jesus.  (By the way, is it just me or does Baby Jesus appear to have blond hair?  Hmmm.)

nativity-close-up

It also made me giggle when I saw how he’d arranged the sheep.  I couldn’t help but think of the movie Babe when Babe gains the sheep’s trust and they line up so nicely before being herded into their little pen.

sheep

Of course, since then I haven’t been able to stop myself from using this line over and over.

“That’ll do, pig.  That’ll do.”

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calista
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 01:52:39

    You are no longer my friend for making me play WC. Do I have Sucka on my forehead or WHAT?

    Reply

  2. Tatersmama
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 04:54:55

    That’ll do pig. That’ll do.

    roflmclao!

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 06:02:57

    Aww you need to get him his own nativity scene! Happy new Year! Just finally catching up!

    Reply

  4. JLI
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 09:19:02

    Okay, maybe I’m just a tad bit weepy for Christ this morning, but I’m not sure I’ve ever seen anything more precious! I can’t help but wonder how long he’s been enamored by it that of all his new toys, this is what he wanted to play with. Absolutely precious…

    Reply

  5. Lora Lynn
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 12:21:54

    hee. very cute.

    Reply

  6. Melanie
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 13:24:18

    I can’t help but wonder what he was thinking as he arranged everyone. Very precious.

    Reply

  7. jennifer
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 19:06:49

    That is by far the most precious thing I have ever seen. How sweet!

    Reply

  8. Jamie
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 21:45:06

    Oh, I love it all — the clever Nativity set up and the sheep (tee hee!) and the Babe reference. I read the book Babe, The Gallant Pig aloud to my son last year, plus we’ve watched the movie seventy bazillion times, so I already have that line permanently ingrained in my head. (I think it lives with all of the useless commercial jingles and song lyrics accumulated over the span of my life.)

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who actually uses it. I find it especially amusing when applied to a hyperactive 7-year-old. “That’ll do, pig. That’ll do,” is my way of saying “Calm down already.” Then he rolls his eyes at me, because he knows exactly what I’m quoting.

    Anyway, you have one smart little Tot there. And yes, I do believe that is a blond baby Jesus.

    Reply

  9. Kim H.
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 10:06:45

    How sweet… this is one of those stories that makes me really wish that I had a child… I think that kids are just incredibly amazing, and sometimes they really are magical!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

